We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Corick House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Corick House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clogher
Certificate of Excellence
Co Armagh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2009

I recently attended a wedding at Corick House Hotel. I must say that the setting is amazing, right in the middle of the countryside in the Clogher Valley. Location =A*.

The Conservatory area where we received tea and coffee is lovely and the chairs are so comfy! This made the usual 'hanging about at weddings' very pleasant indeed.

When we were called to enter the function room, I was blown away by their new 'Orchid Suite'. Apparently it was only been open since June 2009 and everyone was raving about it. The room is so elegant and the views are fantastic, rolling green hills as far as you can see. The place was just immaculate.

The service did not disappoint either. I was very impressed by the staff and the organisation of everyone is a credit to the management. The food was amazing. We had soup, turkey and ham and then I chose the malteaser cheese cake for desert. All to die for!

This place really is a hidden gem, although not quite so hidden now as apparently they have weddings nearly everyday over the summer months. I can see why Corick House is becoming ever so popular. There really is no down-side to this place!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tryyourluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    88
    59
    32
    58
See reviews for
180
259
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

We recently attended a wedding at Corick House Hotel and would like the second some of the negative comments posted here. We found the service in this hotel dreadful, and similarly found the attitude of the staff remarkably bad. We were made to stand for some time at reception while the receptionist 'finished' something before she bothered to give us our key. We later found ourselves at the reception area again to get cashback because the bar does not takes credit of debit cards, which is beyond belief considering its rural location. Once again we were made to wait as the receptionist 'was in the middle of something', only to be charged £4 for the pleasure of getting some cash to spend in their bar. Equally, we received the 10:50 call warning us we would be charged £40 if we stayed longer than 11:00am (though this had not been mentioned on our arrival) which was particularly insulting as we were about to leave the room anyway. We too witnessed staff banging on bedroom doors before 11:00 and shouting at visitors to leave the room. On reflection, the attitude in this hotel was really appalling. Service at the wedding dinner was equally sloppy. I had both potato and gravy served on to my lap. The food was below average.
Despite the beautiful view out the front of this hotel, most of the bedrooms appear to have a view onto a building site out the back. The bedroom was clean and the only complaint I would have about the room is that there was no hairdryer, nor any conditioner in the bathroom.
All in all, I would avoid this place. It seems to cater primarily for weddings and the owners presumably hope that visitors will be too drunk to notice the dreadful service.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank todorov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2009

I recently stayed at Corick Country House for a friend's wedding, the reception of which was also held in the hotel. I was struck throughout my stay by the poor and often rude service provided by the staff. On checking in, we were abruptly handed the key card to our room and given directions, but given no details of breakfast or checkout times. We later read in the information pack in the room that checkout was to be by 11am, so were somewhat surprised to receive a call at 10.50 the next morning as we were leaving telling us to vacate our room or we would have to pay an additional £40. As we left the hotel we passed hotel staff hammering on the doors of other rooms telling the occupants they had to leave! I've never stayed in a hotel that treats its guests in this way.
Further grievances include the bar not accepting credit or debit cards, the bar man directing me to reception who he told me would give me cashback - but only for fee of £4. Having paid £100 for a very average room and poor breakfast, to be charged over the odds for cashback that will be then spent in the hotel bar seemed unbelievable. The mentality of the hotel seems to be to try to milk the guests for as much as possible but giving minimal service in return. Catering primarily for a weddings, it seems the management of Corick Country House does not feel it is necessary to offer the normal levels of individual customer service you would expect from a stay in a decent hotel.
On the plus side, the hotel is blessed with a wonderful location that the staff can't spoil and the cleanliness of my room could not be faulted.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JudithChalmers99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2009

I have been to this hotel for a number of weddings, the most recent being a couple of weeks ago.

The surroundings of the hotel are very picturesque and have great views. The hotel itself is divided into the old original part with lots of antiques and character and the new part that is recently built and up to date. We have only stayed in the new part and it is finished to a high standard with very nice rooms.

The only downside to the premises are the yards around the rear of the building, parts of which can be seen from the rooms, where piles of empty bottles seem to be kept, with others being stored in old oil drums, as well as other debris and rubbish lying around. It gives the place a bit of an untidy feel. We also noticed bottles in some of the flower beds that had not been cleared from previous nights. However, the area with the sun room and patio are very nice and this is where we tended to spend most of our time.

Service is quite good, with the manager and staff being friendly and helpful. The girl who I believe is the owner's daughter is very pleasant and efficient and helps with the running of the wedding. The owner herself seems to be a bit less friendly and doesn't come across too well, we have heard some stories of the owner being awkward towards people planning weddings, and trying to increase prices that have previously been agreed, fortunately the rest of the staff are more friendly.

The food at the wedding meals has been very good, and the offering of seconds is a nice touch, everyone was very well fed. The breakfast the next morning was unfortunately not to the same standard, with service being slow and the cooked breakfast being very limited and overcooked, not up to the standard you would expect for £100 per room for B&B.

So, overall, I would say that the setting is good for a wedding as it is quiet and picturesque, and the evening meals are good, there are just a few rough edges that could maybe be worked on for future to make the overall experience a bit better.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trav008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2009

We stayed at the Corick House for one night as we were attending a family function being held there.
Although there is some construction work being carried out, our stay was unaffected. This is a hidden gem in the Tyrone countryside.
Check in was effortless and efficient and was followed by a brief explanation of directions to our room, evening dining and breakfast times.
We were in the new wing of the hotel and our room was large, comfortable, clean and well equipped.
The room laid aside for this small function was equipped with bar and during the evening a good selection of food was served effortlessly.
Breakfast next morning was excellent
The staff here really make the place, all seemed to be well trained, courteous and nothing was any effort to them. Smiles all round from them too.
We certainly recommend Corick House and hope to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annenpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2009

My husband and I have been going to Corick House for over 7 years now. We spent our Honeymoon there and had a wonderful time. We now go as often as we can, if just for weekend breaks during the year and we now spend our summer holidays there, to include our weddinng anniverserys as well. I must say that we have always been treated with great respect by the staff and the family members. We have stayed in both the old and new wing of the house and each has been a pleasure. The rooms are serviced on a daily basis and are always spotless. The food is wonderful especailly the breakfast, after which having eaten sets you up for the day. The evening meals are of a very high standard and the menu and wine list is extensive. Many of our friends have stayed as well and each have said how much they enjoyed the experience and will be back. The surrounding area is outstaning and the views are just wonderful. There is so much to do and see.

  • Liked — The attention to detail
  • Disliked — Could find nothing to complain about.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank happyBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2008

Two of our Daughters have held their Wedding Receptions at Corick as have several of our friends.
This is a well run family hotel with members of the family always present. This makes such a difference from the standard "run of the mill" hotel one tends to get nowadays.
The Hotel was a Country House prior to becoming an Hotel. Because of this, the bedrooms in the original part are large and with so much more character than the modern rectangular room one gets nowadays. The Hotel does have a modern wing, but we have not stayed in it. Why miss out on character!!!
The Hotel currently only permit one wedding a day and I hope this continues. All the staff attention is directed towards the wedding. Service has always been excellent with food served on hot plates. This is one of the few places that always offer "seconds" at every wedding. Many of our friends from Belfast and further afield had never been offered extra food at a wedding before.
We have also visited their resturant on many occasions and always been impressed by the menu and food.
Corick House is excellent value for money with a great family atmosphere. The staff are always wiling to "have a chat"
Ian & Renate

  • Liked — Different from normal
  • Disliked — Not well enough known - yet
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanRen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clogher
19.6 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
21.5 mi away
Lough Erne Resort
Lough Erne Resort
#5 of 7 in Enniskillen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Valley Hotel
The Valley Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fivemiletown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Silverbirch Hotel
Silverbirch Hotel
#1 of 3 in Omagh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
14.9 mi away
Hillgrove Hotel, Leisure & Spa
19.6 mi away
Westville Hotel
Westville Hotel
#3 of 7 in Enniskillen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corick House

Property: Corick House
Address: 20 Corick Road, Clogher BT76 0BZ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Tyrone > Clogher
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Clogher
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Corick House 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Clogher Valley where style and elegance meets country hospitality, this idyllic 17th Century House offers a haven of tranquillity. A warm welcome awaits you at Corick House Hotel, a charming venue set among meandering streams and winding country roads. Guests are offered the finest tradition and Irish hospitality, superb cuisine and lavish surroundings in the 4*hotel, bringing you back in time with period décor. The hotel showcases how the old and new can blend together effortlessly, offering visitors a high quality and luxurious experience in 4* surroundings. The hotel boasts 43 luxurious bedrooms and suites, nine of which are situated in the original Georgian house, and the remainder located in the new wing of the hotel. All rooms have been individually designed and decorated to an exceptional standard, giving a classically luxurious edge, with stunning views of the gardens, valleys and countryside. Each room is fully equipped to ensure maximum comfort during your stay. AWARDS Voted – Best Wedding Venue in Northern Ireland – Reader Awards 2016 Voted – Best Spa in Northern Ireland – Ulster Tattler Awards 2016 Voted – Best Hotel Restaurant in Ulster – Yes Chef Awards 2016 Voted – Best Country House Dining Experience in Ireland – Yes chef Awards 2016 Voted – Best Dessert Chef in Ireland – Irish Hotel Federation 2016 Voted – Best Customer Service - in Northern Ireland - Women In Business N.I 2016 Voted - Best Hotel Restaurant in Tyrone by Irish Restaurant Awards 2016 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Corick House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corick House Hotel Clogher
Corick Hotel Clogher
Corick House Clogher, County Tyrone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing