We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect retreat”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Homecoming Barn

The Homecoming Barn next to the farmhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Homecoming Barn next to the farmhouse
Front view The back as seen from the inner yard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
The Homecoming Barn next to the farmhouse
Front view
The back as seen from the inner yard
View from the front
Comfortable seating
A woodburning stove makes for a cosy atmosphere
Kitchen area
Dining table set for tea
Double room
Twin room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Clogher, County Tyrone, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
AngelaBow...
1 review
“Perfect retreat”
Reviewed June 14, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

If you're looking away from everything for a while this place is perfect, small town a few minutes away and the chip shops amazing, lovely friendly owners, super time and our dog enjoyed it too

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 15, 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay at the Barn. You're right to highlight the local chip shop!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Mrs ”
Reviewed April 4, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Stayed for a weekend, gorgeous property, it has everything you need. Lots of surrounding countryside and nearby towns to visit. We brought our dog and he had a blast. We were even lucky enough to have a little lamb visit. Audrey and Jack are lovely and are more than happy to help with any queries. Beds were so comfy we all struggled to get up including my daughter. Planning a week visit in the summer as we loved it so much. Only noise is the birds and sheep which is bliss when you live in a busy town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 6, 2016
I'm always delighted when our guests are happy with their stay. We aim to provide a restful experience in a very tranquil setting. The beauty of our location is that we're less than a mile from the A4 and centrally placed for Omagh and the Sperrins, the Fermanagh Lakes, Armagh and the Border Counties.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewed June 29, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warm welcome and stress-free environment
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tricia374
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Warm welcome all round. The barn was cosy and hosts were equally welcoming”
Reviewed May 26, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We arrived late to a lovely welcome from our host and the cosy glow from the wood burner which added extra warmth to a lovely space . The next morning it was so relaxing to be woken gently by the sound of lambs nearby and with the sun seeping through our window. We had booked the downstairs as I don't do stairs. The roomy shower was great for me & the bath with its lovely soft water was far too tempting for my partner. Our host had provided more than sufficient for a lovely breakfast. After that we had a brisk walk to Clogher, across the valley & were pleased to find it supplied all one could need for a much longer stay. The coffee & cakes in the Courthouse were far too yummy.
We returned for our appointment with Jack. We soon realised our visit was far too short. What a fabulous archive of local history he holds. His knowledge too is quite remarkable. We will be back to do lots more research & to make more of the lovely locality.
It was a special pleasure to stay in an original building that had been so carefully renovated. We had all the modern facilities but the Barn & attached Farmhouse were true to their history. That should not be a surprise now we know that Jack is so rooted in the history of his locality.
We will bring our granddaughter next time as she will love the wooded gallery/ balcony which is such a lovely feature of the Barn.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet and warm atmosphere
Liked least: all fine
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo C
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful countryside barn”
Reviewed April 16, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My husband and I visited the lovely refurbished bar in Clougher for a break away with my family. It was Immaculately clean and a really cosy space to relax with the stove and tranquil countryside views. We were blessed with lovely sunny weather so were able to make use of the barbecue and there were various places nearby for walks. We hope to return to this very quaint getaway!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave67814
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Long Weekend in March”
Reviewed March 10, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My Fiancé and I had the pleasure of staying at the Homecoming Barn for a long weekend in March.

Despite its rural location, it is very easy to find and well connected by road. It took us little over an hour to get to from central Belfast and just over 45 minutes back to Belfast International Airport when we had to leave.

The Barn is located in the small village of Clogher. Which has several shops to get any amenities you could need, a petrol station, a bank, pubs etc. It also has a picturesque cathedral looming from the top of the hill overlooking the Clogher Valley (you can also see the Barn from here).

The Homecoming Barn is a brand new conversion of farming sheds. It has the right balance of modern amenities (full modern kitchen with fitted appliances, 2 bathrooms (1 with a large roll top bath), TV & DVD player, Wi-Fi).Whilst retaining a rustic charm with well-placed lighting, soft furnishings and an impressive wood burner that is the focus of the living area. It even had a keyboard/piano that my fiance was able to play.

The main part of the barn is open plan, with the 1st floor landing overlooking the ground floor. The main living the area is quite large, but feels intimate because of openness of it. We hired the whole barn, which has a large master bedroom downstairs, with access to the downstairs bathroom. There is also a large twin room upstairs with en-suite. Both rooms had wardrobes/storage. The Barn is located on a small working sheep farm. We were fortunate that our trip coincided with lambing season, so we got to see lots of new lambs in the fields too, which was an added bonus.

Jack & Audrey (the owners) made us very welcome. They know all the ins and outs of the local area, so were able to give us some ideas of where to go. Such as was Knockmany Forest (5 mins away), Parkanaur Forest (20 mins) larger local towns (Enniskillen & Omagh 20-25 mins each) and local restaurants. There is also literature in the Barn, of the local area for reference and planning days out.

We really enjoyed our stay and we’ll definitely be going back. The Homecoming Barn is a great place to go to relax and base to explore this part of Northern Ireland from. We could not fault anything and found the price to be very good given what you get. It’s always nice to have expectations surpassed and the Homecoming Barn certainly does that!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of the Barn and its amenities
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 13, 2015
Thank for your positive comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2016wir3
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation

Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2016
So glad that you were comfortable in the Barn, that you enjoyed the flowers & found the provisions useful.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing