We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Everglades Hotel and Conference Centre
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa(Nottingham Road)(Great Value!)
$132
$129
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton(Pietermaritzburg)
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Redlands Hotel and Lodge(Pietermaritzburg)
$115
$94
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Imperial Hotel(Pietermaritzburg)
$105
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Thorn Tree Lodge(Pietermaritzburg)
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg(Pietermaritzburg)
$46
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Sierra Resort(Mooi River)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveler rating
14
9
10
6
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
9
10
6
13
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
49 - 52 of 52 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2012

This county hotel is situated in a beautiful setting in the Upper Dargle at the base of the Inhlosane Mountain amongst indigenous forests with a large selection of birdlife and a fantastic country view. We have stayed at Everglades a number of times and our room has always been very good with underfloor heating, spacious bathroom, TV etc, also in a thatched building. Plus a welcome tea and coffee station in the room. The food is very good homemade country fare and the touch of homemade biscuits a real treat at the tea station in the lounge available all day. This family country hotel offers facilities for children - swimming pool, trampoline, tennis and bowls and a lovely hike up the mountain departing from the front door. After a few kilometres on a scenic dirt from the hotel one is on the tar again and it is 20 odd kilometers to the main Nottingham Road and Piggly Wiggly Country Market at the start of the further Meander routes. Quite a few art outlets of the Midlands Meander are in close proximity of the hotel en route to/from the hotel. A lovely setting and the Management and Staff are very helpful and friendly and make one feel at home.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackieS312578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Manager at Everglades Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2016

Thank you Jackie for your lovely review with so much detail for our readers. I apologise that it is many years later to respond to you, I have recently taken over as Management and learnt that previous management did not attend to this website.

We hope you choose to stay with Everglades again very soon. Please find the recently uploaded pictures of the estate and views from the Mountains.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We stayed here first in 2010 and had a good stay, in 2011 we stayed in room 37 and 38 and found our bed and our childrens beds covered in an orange worm/lavae, we complained to the management and they informed us that they came from the thatch and moved us to a different room, on checking out they even gave us the one night free of charge, i then booked again for 2012 and wanted to stay in the same rooms 37 and 38, i sent an email 3 days before our arrival and asked them to please clean the room of any worms please, they responded that they would make sure all was well. We arrived on Friday 9th February and to out astonishment found all the beds had the same worms on them, even inside if your lifted the covers, we pulled the mattresses to the floor and had a very uneasy sleep for the night, the next morning i went to complain and asked them to please clean the room and to make sure on our return that evening that the worms were sorted out. On our return we again found 5 worms on the bed, i again went to complain and they gave us a much smaller room with one bathroom, we had 2 on suite in 37 and 38, the room was clean and contained no worms so we had a peaceful nights sleep we did however lug all out luggage ourselves no-one came to help us or look into the worm issue.The excuse this time was that they are moth larvae and it happens each year at this time only. On checking out i was presented with the bill and i was charged for 2 nights in the much bigger and better room, i questioned this and the receptionist went off to speak to the owner and came back an gave me a 10% discount. On no occasion did any manager or owner come to inspect the room, no apology was ever offered to us and at the end not even the owner came to speak to us. We stayed there for 3 years running, was planning to stay again for next years midmar swim but after this terrible treatment will not be setting foot in the Evergaldes again. If you want to sleep with worms and have a totally apethetic stay please stay here

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DeanSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Manager at Everglades Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2016

Dear Reviewer,

I first would like to give first apologies for the late response to your review. We have recently undergone new management at the hotel, which is why you have not had a response sooner. I am so very sorry.

I am also very sorry to hear of your experience in 2011 and 2012. I can assure you we do not experience that kind of problem now at Everglades. I understand the worms are a result of the thatch roofing, however we try our best to fumigate the thatch so this does not occur. I would also like to take this opportunity to apologise on behalf of the previous management for not apologising for your uncomfortable stay.

Now we are under new management I hope you decide to stay with us again at Everglades.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Just to note that it sounds like Everglades is a Howick Hotel when in fact its not, its miles away from Howick About 45-60 minute drive and partly on a reasonable gravel road so you will need car hire. And no its not in the direction of the Drakensberg or on one of the main route to the Drakensberg. It's a nice venue for a 2 night stay.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ThicktailedBushbaby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle D, Manager at Everglades Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2016

Dear Reviewer,

I first would like to give first apologies for the late response to your review. We have recently undergone new management at the hotel, which is why you have not had a response sooner. I am so very sorry.

As far as I am aware, staff at Everglades did not set up the Trip Advisor page and therefore a guest who perhaps did must have got our address wrong. I will change this imminently.

Thank you for rating us 4 stars, I am sure if you decide to come and stay with us again you would rate us 5 stars. We hope you join us at Everglades again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews