We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic weekend getaway”
other travelers have booked this property
Main bedroom, which leads out onto wooden deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main bedroom, which leads out onto wooden deck
View of Copperleigh Trout Cottage garage with private driveway Front of the cottage with Inhlosane Mountain in the background
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Main bedroom, which leads out onto wooden deck
View of Copperleigh Trout Cottage garage with private driveway
Front of the cottage with Inhlosane Mountain in the background
Main bedroom has ceiling fan and hairdryer. Doors lead out onto wooden deck overlooking the dam
Main bedroom has queen size bed with electric blanket
Main bedroom with built in cupboards
Wooden deck from the main bedroom overlooking the trout stocked Mavela Dam
Guest bedroom overlooking garden
Guest bedroom has queen size bed, electric blankets, fan and hairdryer
Loft room with bunk bed suitable for 2 kids
Loft room
Sleeper couch and towels in the loft room
The bathroom which is upstairs has a walk in shower and toilet
Lounge with comfortable leather couches, flatscreen tv, DSTV and dvd player with movie collection
Dining room with wood burning fireplace (firewood is included)
Fully equipped modern self catering kitchen with microwave, gas stove top and electric oven
Large fully equipped self-catering kitchen, includes fridge freezer, dish washer and washing machine
Verandah with Weber braai or grill (please bring your own charcoal)
Guest holding her trophy trout!
The cottage is on the left hand side here on Mavela Dam
Sheep being fed
View of Mavela Dam, Copperleigh Trout Cottage on far left hand side
Sheep and cattle on the farm
Wintry scene of Inhlosane Mountain
Grey Crowned Cranes photographed standing in Mavela Dam when water is low
The Wattled Crane is one of the five critically endangered bird species in South Africa
Grey Heron catching frogs
Sunset over Mavela Dam
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Dargle, KwaZulu-Natal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
charmaine...
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
“Fantastic weekend getaway”
Reviewed December 18, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Hands down one of the best places we have stayed at in the Midlands!

The cottage and surroundings are amazing!

Thank you Ashley for your top class hospitality! We will definitely become regulars!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 20, 2017
Hi Charmaine

We really enjoyed having you and your family come to stay at Copperleigh Trout Cottage, and I know Noa'-Grace loved especially being around the sheep too! We really look forward to having you all come to stay again in the future.

Kind Regards
Ashley Crookes
Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rach C
1 review
“Stunning and tranquil holiday”
Reviewed December 3, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

This cottage is such a steal. Fully equipped home and pristine and the host went above and beyond. Such a beautiful setting and a beautiful home. We enjoyed our time there so much. We will definitely be back. Couldn't have asked for a better weekend away. Thank you so much for the awesome hospitality

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 4, 2017
Hi Gavin and Rach. Thank you so much for your kind words. We really enjoyed having you both, and are thrilled to hear you had such a great time. We look forward to being of service to you again in the future!

Kind Regards
Ashley Crookes
Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allenh841
Hillcrest, South Africa
1 review
“Perfect weekend getaway”
Reviewed November 28, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Thank you for a lovely weekend Ashley. Excellent safe venue with lovely accommodation. Summer nights listening to nature at its best, trout fishing and strolling around daytime.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 30, 2017
Thank you so much for reviewing our cottage Allen. I'm so glad that you enjoyed it once again, we really appreciate your continued support and look forward to hosting you and your family in the future.

Kind Regards

Ashley Crookes
Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juliakate...
Durban, South Africa
1 review
“Superb cottage, tranquil and beautiful surroundings.”
Reviewed November 26, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We had a lovely stay at this cottage. Such a tranquil and restful time. Walking on the farm, visiting baby lambs and trout fishing. Lovely braais and roaring fires!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 27, 2017
Hi Julia and John

Thank you so much for your review of our cottage. I'm so glad to hear that you guys thoroughly enjoyed your time here in the Dargle! We will continue to do our best to ensure that all our guests have an amazing, comfortable and fun stay whilst they are at Copperleigh Trout Cottage. We look forward to having you back again soon!

Regards
Ashley Crookes
Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
647rosali...
Durban, South Africa
1 review
“HIGHLY RECOMENDED”
Reviewed November 12, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Copperleigh Trout Cottage is on top of our fly fishing destinations. Had an awesome weekend. 5 star cottage. Great fishing experience. Ashleigh our host was fantastic. Beautiful place to relax and unwind. We will definitely be back soon.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2017
Hi Rosalie & Colin.

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our cottage, and thank you for being such amazing guests! We are really looking forward to hosting you again in the future.

Ashley Crookes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meg S
1 review
“Modern, well-equipped cottage”
Reviewed October 30, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This cottage is safe and secure and has everything you need. There is a hike up Inhlosane Peak just up the road which is fantastic. The staff are friendly and accommodating. The cottage exceeded our expectations.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 31, 2017
Hi Megan

Thank you so much for taking the time to rate us, and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at Copperleigh Trout Cottage. We are continually striving to ensure that our guests have the best experience possible whilst staying with us. We hope we see you again soon!

Regards
Ashley Crookes
Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel H
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Chilled farm stay with great views”
Reviewed October 17, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed at Copperleigh with our in-laws who had been before. Amazing establishment with a fully kitted self-catering house.
Even if you are not a fisherman the house is on a working farm so you can enjoy the farm experience as you watch Ash move the sheep around the farm. Or go for a leisurely stroll around the farm to take in the views of the spectacular countryside.

This really is a great place to go and relax and is only 20min outside of Lions River.
We will definitely be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 19, 2017
Thanks so much for your positive review of our establishment Nigel. We are glad that you enjoyed it, and are continually striving to improve the experience for all guests who stay with us. We look forward to having you again soon!

Ashley Crookes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing