We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning and tranquil holiday”
other travelers have booked this property
Front of cottage - wooden deck on top from main bedroom and verandah downstairs. Can view Mavela Dam
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of cottage - wooden deck on top from main bedroom and verandah downstairs. Can view Mavela Dam
There is a large garden to relax in or for kids to play Private entrance and double electric garage make it easy to secure your vehicles
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Front of cottage - wooden deck on top from main bedroom and verandah downstairs. Can view Mavela Dam
There is a large garden to relax in or for kids to play
Private entrance and double electric garage make it easy to secure your vehicles
Main bedroom, which leads out onto wooden deck. Queen size bed.
Main bedroom has queen size bed with electric blanket. Ceiling fan and hairdryer provided.
Main bedroom with built in cupboards
Wooden deck from the main bedroom overlooking the trout stocked Mavela Dam
Main bedroom en-suite bathroom with shower and toilet. Heated towel rail & complimentary soaps.
Second bedroom overlooking garden
Second bedroom has queen size bed, electric blankets, fan and hairdryer
2nd bedroom
Kids room with bunk bed suitable for 2 kids
The loft or kids room has a queen size bed and a bunk bed.
Queen size bed in the kids room
The second bathroom which is upstairs has a large walk in shower and toilet.
Lounge with comfy sofas, large movie collection, DSTV Premium satellite service, complimentary WiFi.
Dining room with wood burning fireplace (the bundle of firewood is replaced each morning).
Fully equipped modern self catering kitchen with microwave, gas stove top and electric oven
Large modern kitchen, includes fridge freezer, dish washer and washing machine
Verandah with Weber braai or grill (please bring your own charcoal & firelighters)
Copperleigh Trout Cottage on the left, main farm house on right so we are close by & available
Guest holding her trophy trout!
Trout stocked Mavela Dam, cottage on far left hand side. Inhlosane Mountain in the background.
Dohne Merino sheep being fed during the afternoon.
Kids enjoy interacting with the lambs (seasonal), and other farmyard animals.
Angus/Brangus red cattle which are located on the farm.
Pepper & Flip-Flop can be visited
Wintry scene of Inhlosane Mountain, a popular hike can be accessed from only a few mins drive away.
Grey Heron catching frogs
Grey Crowned Cranes photographed standing in Mavela Dam when water is low
Some kayaks are provided at no extra charge for guests to use. Paddles and life jackets available.
Admiring the sunset over Mavela dam whilst sitting on one of the kayaks.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Dargle, KwaZulu-Natal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RachC122
1 review
“Stunning and tranquil holiday”
Reviewed December 3, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

This cottage is such a steal. Fully equipped home and pristine and the host went above and beyond. Such a beautiful setting and a beautiful home. We enjoyed our time there so much. We will definitely be back. Couldn't have asked for a better weekend away. Thank you so much for the awesome hospitality

Date of stay: December 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 4, 2017
Hi Gavin and Rach. Thank you so much for your kind words. We really enjoyed having you both, and are thrilled to hear you had such a great time. We look forward to being of service to you again in the future!

Kind Regards
Ashley Crookes
Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allenh841
Hillcrest, South Africa
1 review
“Perfect weekend getaway”
Reviewed November 28, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Thank you for a lovely weekend Ashley. Excellent safe venue with lovely accommodation. Summer nights listening to nature at its best, trout fishing and strolling around daytime.

Date of stay: November 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 30, 2017
Thank you so much for reviewing our cottage Allen. I'm so glad that you enjoyed it once again, we really appreciate your continued support and look forward to hosting you and your family in the future.

Kind Regards

Ashley Crookes
Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juliakate...
Durban, South Africa
1 review
“Superb cottage, tranquil and beautiful surroundings.”
Reviewed November 26, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We had a lovely stay at this cottage. Such a tranquil and restful time. Walking on the farm, visiting baby lambs and trout fishing. Lovely braais and roaring fires!

Date of stay: November 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 27, 2017
Hi Julia and John

Thank you so much for your review of our cottage. I'm so glad to hear that you guys thoroughly enjoyed your time here in the Dargle! We will continue to do our best to ensure that all our guests have an amazing, comfortable and fun stay whilst they are at Copperleigh Trout Cottage. We look forward to having you back again soon!

Regards
Ashley Crookes
Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
647rosali...
Durban, South Africa
1 review
“HIGHLY RECOMENDED”
Reviewed November 12, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Copperleigh Trout Cottage is on top of our fly fishing destinations. Had an awesome weekend. 5 star cottage. Great fishing experience. Ashleigh our host was fantastic. Beautiful place to relax and unwind. We will definitely be back soon.

Date of stay: November 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2017
Hi Rosalie & Colin.

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our cottage, and thank you for being such amazing guests! We are really looking forward to hosting you again in the future.

Ashley Crookes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meg S
1 review
“Modern, well-equipped cottage”
Reviewed October 30, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This cottage is safe and secure and has everything you need. There is a hike up Inhlosane Peak just up the road which is fantastic. The staff are friendly and accommodating. The cottage exceeded our expectations.

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 31, 2017
Hi Megan

Thank you so much for taking the time to rate us, and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at Copperleigh Trout Cottage. We are continually striving to ensure that our guests have the best experience possible whilst staying with us. We hope we see you again soon!

Regards
Ashley Crookes
Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
498nigelh
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Chilled farm stay with great views”
Reviewed October 17, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed at Copperleigh with our in-laws who had been before. Amazing establishment with a fully kitted self-catering house.
Even if you are not a fisherman the house is on a working farm so you can enjoy the farm experience as you watch Ash move the sheep around the farm. Or go for a leisurely stroll around the farm to take in the views of the spectacular countryside.

This really is a great place to go and relax and is only 20min outside of Lions River.
We will definitely be back.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 19, 2017
Thanks so much for your positive review of our establishment Nigel. We are glad that you enjoyed it, and are continually striving to improve the experience for all guests who stay with us. We look forward to having you again soon!

Ashley Crookes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_bee27_kh...
Durban, South Africa
1 review
“Our amazing holiday at Copperleigh Trout Cottage”
Reviewed October 5, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We've just had the most relaxing,beautiful holiday at Copperleigh Trout Cottage in Dargle...I have to say I was pleasantly surprised by the cottage...It was exactly as the pictures on the net..if not more amazing! Absolutely LOVELY hosts so caring and attentive. Clinically clean which I quite appreciated...lots of entertainment indoors and outdoors to keep th kids out of your hair!

#bestholidaydestanationinSA

Date of stay: October 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 7, 2017
Hi Sabeeha.

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our cottage! We thoroughly enjoyed having you and the family coming to stay with us, and we look forward to hosting you all again in the future.

Kind Regards

Ashley Crookes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing