We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,014)
Filter reviews
2,014 results
Traveler rating
1,061
645
179
70
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,061
645
179
70
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmango reef restaurantswim up barblue havenocean frontfull kitchencaicos dream tourssister propertiestime sharebeautiful beachfree shuttlewasher dryerrum punchgrocery storedinner on the beachhalf bathpartial ocean viewcoral gardens
Filter
Updating list...
1,817 - 1,822 of 2,014 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo with 2-1/2 baths for 5 people. This wonderful condo had an oceanview with a to-die-for balcony with 3 chaise lounges and a 6 seat dining table. It was the full with of the condo. What a great addition to an exceptional lodging, which included a full kitchen with supplies, a laundry closet, tile floors throughout, and daily maid service to boot. The location on Grace Bay is between the Veranda and the Regent Palms, right about in the middle of Grace Bay. It has a lovely pool and beach with very comfortable lounge chairs and umbrellas available for no charge. Beach towels are always available by the pool. Although we were there in late August, I am told in season, you may have to reserve your chairs. We had only about 8 other couples renting in the entire complex! I felt like "the Donald"

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ratty_dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

This resort is so much more than I had expected for the price I paid. The rooms are cleaned every day, and are immaculate. We had the most comfortable stay in a 2 bdrm unit in the Prima Donna Building. The rooms were a generous size, and the balcony's are very large with a great view of the pool,& ocean The grounds are beautiful, and well kept. Management was very helpful, and friendly,. The beach was very clean, had plenty of chairs and umbrellas for the guest use. I didn't have any compliants at all. The beach was to die for. Would stay here in a heartbeat again. Loved Richard the bartender very amusing, and Anette the manager, who made sure our stay was perfect. They have a tour desk on the beach Caicos Dream Tours, for snorkel excursions which was also a plus. The best excursion, ever.
Thank You Alexandra Resort for making our stay perfect.
Becky :-)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank caicos21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2010

Just returned from a very restful week in Providenciales. My husband and I both have somewhat stressful jobs so we were looking to decompress. The Alexandra Resort met all of our requirements. We had a beachfront studio with a small kitchenette on the 3rd floor overlooking the beach and bar/restaurant area. Our room appeared to be recently redone and was always very clean.

We had lunch at the Alexandra several times and it was always very good. Drinks were also reasonably priced and well made by Michelle. We had a car so we were able to shop at the nearby IGA for breakfast items.

On day one, we both had massages at the resort, Spa Sanay. Excellent, best massage that I had ever had and because we were guests of the resort there was a discount. This service is absolutely recommended. The hotel also is the host for Caicos Dream Tours. We did the half day snorkeling trip which I would also highly recommend. We left at 8:45 and returned around 1:30. We snorkeled at three different locations and had lunch on a very small island. We had a group of 16 which was nice, not a hugh crowd. The mate and captain did a nice job, very knowledgeable about the island and the waters.

Regarding night life, we found none. Our hotel advertised an evening of entertainment but there was none. I would say this is the biggest negative not only of this hotel but of the island itself. Someone said that it was because it was off season but in speaking with others who have been there at other times there is no nightlife. I think that someone could make a fortune if they opened a bar/restaurant with a DJ or some kind of music with a dance floor.

Restaurants: We loved the Tiki Hut, ate there twice, very reasonably priced. Baci for Italian was very good, located near Tiki in the marina. Yoshi's was excellent for Japanese and sushi. Coyaba is expensive but excellent. Our only disappointment was Parallel in the Regent Palm. It was extremely expensive and the food was awful. My husband ordered Prime Rib that appeared to be some kind of steak with fat. I had rissoto that was about two tablespoons, no other vegetable or anything else on the plate and was very dried out. We spent over $200 here including drinks, total waste of money.

If you stay at the Alexandra, I would recommend a car so that you can get to other restaurants and shopping. Also, bring bug spray, most of the restaurants are outside seating and it had rained almost every afternoon for a short time period so the mosquitos were a minor problem. Pack snokel equipment, you can walk down the beach past Beaches to a coral reef right off the beach. The most beautiful fish ever and no need for fins.

We will definitely go back to Providenciales, probably more in season and hope to find some kind of nightlife. As it was, we did lots of walking on the beach, snorkeled, and we both came back very rested and relaxed. One additional item, the people who live here are all very friendly and nice.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CinnaminNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Alexandra Resort from May 17 – May 24. We found many aspects of the Alexandra very enjoyable, while others were aggravating enough to prevent us from recommending this particular property. First the good points.

The resort is situated on a beautiful section of Grace Bay. It is within easy walking distance of several restaurants as well as snorkeling at Coral Gardens. Even though we had a rental car for the week, it was nice to be able to walk to so many places (the exercise eased our guilt over all the great meals we had in TCI!)

The staff at the Alexandra was very friendly and helpful. The folks we dealt with at reception were helpful and efficient. We could always count on Ms. Beckford and her housekeeping staff to keep our unit in tip-top shape and to respond quickly to any issues we ran into. And Arnold and Jeffrey displayed a can-do attitude whenever we dealt with them.

The room itself was great. We had a one-bedroom unit in the Marilyn building. We appreciated its size and layout, especially the huge balcony overlooking the pool and grounds. The granite and stainless kitchen made meal and snack preparation a joy. The flat screen TVs in the living area and the bedroom were nice touches as was the large safe. We both thought the bed was comfortable, a good compromise between soft and firm. Even though the wifi didn’t work in our room, there was an Ethernet jack and the staff supplied us with a cable that did the trick.

In short, the basic ingredients for an excellent resort hotel are in place: a good physical plant, a terrific location and a friendly, helpful staff. Unfortunately the negatives we encountered offset these positive aspects of the resort.

The seaside Chelsea building is being renovated, and construction noise was not insignificant. At 7am each morning (except Sunday) we heard the beep-beep-beep of equipment being driven from its parking spot in the back of the property to the Chelsea building. We also heard clanging, hammering, yelling, circular saws and other equipment starting at 7am. We are early risers so these noises didn’t wake us up, but they did make a quiet breakfast on the balcony impossible. The sounds also could be heard at the beach on occasion, detracting from peaceful relaxation there. Even though there was no renovation work on Sunday, we were dismayed that a member of the grounds crew fired up his weed-whacker outside our room at 8am. And on other days we saw men at 8am mowing and using a leaf blower to clean sand off the pathways. In short, there was way too much noise around the resort, and management needs to do a better job controlling what noise it can. They should also post a construction warning on the resort’s website for the duration of this work.

Another area for improvement involves the beach scene. The Alexandra is one of the few resorts on Grace Bay that offers nothing in the way of beach toys. On our morning walks we would see other properties up and down the beach with Hobie Cats, sea kayaks, etc. The Alexandra should invest in some of these amenities for its guests.

Finally, there was one nit that said a lot to us about management’s attitude towards its guests. When we were shown our room on the first day, we were presented with an inventory of 211 “housekeeping items” ranging from a blender (replacement cost $120) to a dish towel ($10). You are asked to sign for this inventory, warned that it would be checked every day and that your credit card will be charged for any missing items. We didn’t come to TCI to steal a potholder ($10) and we let management know that we resented this particular “welcome.” If someone steals a toaster, charge them for it. But a broken wine glass or a lost plastic tumbler is simply a cost of doing business.

Our conclusion is that the Alexandra is a very nice property with good people and a great potential not currently realized by the property manager. Like the reviewer below, we also think that the RWI is a better buy in this class of resort.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank laslototh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ARS101, Manager at Alexandra Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2010

Dear Reviewer

We would like to thank you for choosing The Alexandra Resort, for taking the time to write your review and for your candid comments.

We are thrilled that you found the location of the Alexandra on Grace Bay to be beautiful as well as we are also delighted that you were impressed by our staff and our contemporarily designed suites and that you enjoyed staying there.

The resort’s management and staff regret that your stay with us was compromised by our efforts to upgrade our property. Ordinarily the noise is contained within the building that is under renovation ( interior upgrade). However, at some intervals during your stay but for a minimal time, the loud noise level could not be avoided and was heard from other areas of the resort.

During the renovation process, the contractor agreed to facilitate our guests and compromise the working hours in order to satisfy the majority of our guests and owners alike. As a result, work begins later than the original scheduled time. Currently, the disruption is minimal, and we are happy to report that the renovation is nearing completion with a July completion date.

The Alexandra Resort is one of the few properties on the island that operates a water sports tour desk. We provide this service to other resorts, as well. Our water sports tour desk offers daily half and full day trips to other TCI islands and provides complimentary kayaks and paddle boats. Snorkel gears are also available.

The Alexandra is a mixed-use resort (i.e. condominium and vacation ownership). As you were advised, the condo in which you stayed is privately owned and as such, we are accountable to our owners. It is customary to have an inventory list. Our aim is not to be onerous or ambiguous. Please be assured that we will be evaluating our inventory process with a view of making it less arduous and time-consuming.

We apologize for your inconvenience during your stay at our resort, and we thank you and for taking time to help us in our improvement process. We look forward to the opportunity serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the Alexandra and when comparing it to Royal West Indies, I think we both decided we like Royal West Indies better because the room is a little bit bigger.

But, the Alexandra was still very good. There was a bit of an ant problem and we called 2x to have them come spray for ants. The pool is great. Of course, the beach is great too.

We never ate out. We spent our $150 at the local IGA and ate every meal in. We used our money for scuba diving ... not food.

The front desk staff at the Alexandra was exceptional. We had rented a car from Avis upon arrival on Sunday. On Thursday, they had some torrential rains which flooded a lot of the island roads including the parking lot where we parked our little itty bitty car. We were out on a scuba boat drowning in the rain but no scuba diving. When we returned, our rental car was GONE. The resort had called Avis to come get the car before it flooded. Avis took 2+ hours to get there to rescue the car and it did get some water damage that Avis is now saying we need to pay for. We will take this up with Avis Corporate office b/c we do not feel the act of God and all the rain should fall solely on us as the renters of the car.

So, our trip was great. We used Dive Provo for scuba diving and they were ok. The Alexandra was also ok.

The room had a blender, coffee maker, mini fridge, toaster, sink, new sponge, microwave, paper towels and dish detergent. The room also had wi-fi but we found it hard to always get a connection to but they did have a business office where you could use a PC so that was good too.

They make the most outstanding MUDSLIDES at the pool bar. : )

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank NC-Sunshine05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews