We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Sands at Grace Bay
Nearby Hotels
Point Grace(Grace Bay)(Great Value!)
$485
$470
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alexandra Resort(Grace Bay)(Great Value!)
$485
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos(Grace Bay)(Great Value!)
$751
$705
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Venetian on Grace Bay(Grace Bay)(Great Value!)
$875
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seven Stars Resort & Spa(Grace Bay)(Great Value!)
$630
$490
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Regent Grand(Grace Bay)(Great Value!)
$694
$598
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $693/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ports of Call Resort(Grace Bay)(Great Value!)
$257
$201
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$726
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Renaissance(Grace Bay)(Great Value!)
$611
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Club Med Turkoise, Turks & Caicos(Grace Bay)(Great Value!)
$500
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,006)
Filter reviews
2,006 results
Traveler rating
1,032
718
150
61
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,032
718
150
61
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean viewhemingways restaurantsands resortscreened in porchrum punchfull kitchengrocery storewasher and dryeran umbrellahobie catsmain poolcoral gardensother resortspaddle boardsbeautiful beachtiki hutliving room
Filter
Updating list...
1,591 - 1,596 of 2,006 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2009

The location along the long strip of hotels was perfect. Set away a little from hotels on either side. It had the widest beach area with cute tiki huts so you could still take in the scene unlike some of the hotels with chairs and sun shields right against each other. The landscaping was really pretty and green. Hemingways is the only bar and restaurant on location and they come out to the beach for drink requests. $5-9 drinks We hit the IGA and bought beer and wine for the week which worked out well. The pools were clean and refreshing. Relaxing waterfall at the middle pool with great pergola and shade palm trees. Easily our favorite spot. Hotel has floaties for lounging in the pools and ocean. We took out the little hobie cat sailboat which was so much fun. Risked hurricane season in Sept but the weather was perfect and had the hotel practically to ourselves. Reserved the queen bed condo with courtyard view or something but we still had a great location and I thought it was better than the one room king bed regular hotel style. Our room was separate from the front/ living room space with kitchenette. We stocked up on snack foods and sandwich stuff so we could eat and get right back to the beach or pool and went out for dinners. Overall it was a decent hotel, clean, great location, kind staff and a great trip!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank novia26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2009

My husband and I visited Provo for the first time for our 10 year anniversary. I visited TripAdvisor every week for months to make sure our stay would be the best, and it was!!

We arrived at the airport and went directly to the Budget counter to rent a car. The price was $39.95 daily which was comparable to in town rental places. The only drawback was that you had to return the car to the Budget office in town as opposed to the airport and someone will drive you the short distance to the airport from there.

The Sands at Grace Bay is BEAUTIFUL!! There was a miscommunication with the room we booked and we were upgraded immediately to room 3310 which was awesome. We arrived on a Tuesday just in time for the managers rum punch evening. That was a great introduction to Turks... having rum and Turks Head lager while watching the sun set and meeting some fellow vacationers. Since we happened to take a chance and visit during hurricane season the resorts and restaurants were SO not busy. A couple of the restaurants and resorts were closed. The Sands was the most happening place within a mile walking distance on the beach. Try and make it to the IGA just to get snacks and drinks if you want to avoid the $4 Turks Head and $7 fruity drinks. We LOVED the palapas and never had to wait once for one.

Our favorite place to eat was Hemingways at the Sands. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were consistant and the prices reasonable. The fish tacos were our favorite and the filet with mushroom sauce for dinner was great. Other places we dined.... Tiki Hut, Horse Eyed Jacks, Somewhere on the Beach and take out from Pizza Pizza in our room while watching the Steeler game... that was fun!!!

The staff at the Sands were nice and things ran smoothly. They have a 'no problem' attitude which worked great for us since this was a purely relaxing vacation. My husband dived with Dive Provo... which was great, especially when he got to swim with a shark. We went on a sunset cruise that we booked with the tour company at Sands. It was great and we met some really nice people from all over the world. We snorkeled at Coral Gardens right off Grace Bay and saw sting rays, turtles, angel fish, barracuda, star fish and other little creatures. We drove to Sopadilla bay but wasn't that impressed. There is a much prettier beach if you drive away from the airport on Leeward Highway and take a side road where some housing developments are being built.

We were very impressed and will go back again hopefully when our kids are old enough to dive and the whales are migrating.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlchurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2009

Went to Providenciales for 5 days to celebrate my 40th birthday with my wife leaving the kids at home. Arrived at 2:30 right on time, customs was busy but only took about 10 minutes. Paul from Grace Bay car rentals was there waiting for us and was very helpful giving directions and pointing out places on the island. Woudl definately recommend them. Made it to the hotel, kind of odd driving on the right side of the car in the left lave, but got used to it and the roundabouts quickly. Check in was very quick and easy, they had upgraded us to a Studio Ocean View w/ a balcony (see picture) from a courtyard view without one. Got us rum punch and gots us off to a great start. Everyone seemed relaxed, friendly, and helpful. Room was great, small "kitchenette" was a microwave, small fridge, toaster, sink and various dishes, glasses, silverwear. Had a washer and dryer in the bathroom, which was large and clean. Headed to the beach (again, see pictures) and walked around a bit. Tour desk got reservation for diving the next day with Caicos Adventures

Decided it was time for an early dinner as we had skipped lunch flying over the Bahamas, so we went to Hemingways. Had the conch fritters (ok, but a bit doughy), jerk chicken sandwich (excellent) and the fish tacos (best I have ever had) and a margarita (not great) and some Turks Head lager (great). We did find that everything on the island is expensive as this meal ran us $60, but hey, we're on vacation, right?
Next day diving at French Cay. thought we were going to West Caicos but change of plan. Boat was big and only 6 divers and 2 dive masters and the captain. If you have never been here, it is very hard to explain how beautifully blue and clear the ocean is. At 40Ft deep going 20 knots you could easily see starfish on the bottom as we passed over. My wife stayed aboard to snorkel and lay in the sun. Diving the wall was great although I get excited and use my air up too fast. Came back for a nap in the hammocks, went to dinner at Jimmy's Dive Bar and then up to Calico Jacks. Both had really good food and Leeanna at Calicos was great and made us coconut leaf animals to take home to the kids. Then headed to the grocery store, the IGA and did some quick pick up things. Again, we were kind of surprised how expensive everything is. $10 for a large papaya, $5 for a half gallon of OJ and $11 for a six pack of beer kind of hurt. Went back to the room and chilled out
Saturday went to the Conch Farm which was suposedly open but nobody around, so we just strolled around a bit and decided to drive around the island. Went to the Nikki Beach resort which was super luxury and super deserted like just about anywhere else. Manager there recommended Caicos Dream tour so we gave them a shout and booked for the next day. went back to the Sands, got our snorkel gear and drove down to Coral Gardens and went snorkeling off the beach. Saw some good coral, quite a few fish, couple barracuda, couple turtles, at at Somewhere on the Beach which was really good. Back to the Sands for a nap. Headed to Horse-Eyed Jack's for dinner, again, nobody there but us and one other table, had a wonderful jerk platter with pork, chicken, shrimp and some potato salad and slaw, everything was great. Went next door to Da Conch Shack and got a plate of cracked (fried) conch and some rum punch and daiquiris which was all excellent but still, just us and one other table. When they say slow season, they really mean it.
Sunday went on the Caicos half day tour, left from the beach 2 hotels down and went out to the reef on Grace Bay, snorkeled out there, saw some cool things, couple small sharks. Headed back to the east end and stopped near the conch farm, learned about conch and got to dive for our lunch, about 8 ft of water and just go down and grab some, then off to a deserted island to have the captain and mate fix them up in a conch salad and we sat on the beach and drank beer and rum and really consider why I go to work every day. On the way out, saw a HUGE ray swimming so they stopped the boat and I dove out with the camera but had a hard time focusing (remember the rum?)
Back to the beach and just layed out the rest of the day, went out for Pizza that night, again, $23 for a 16" pizza was kind of stiff but....
Monday headed out and drove around killing time before the flight, saw quite a bit if the residential areas, Chaulk Sound was beautiful too.
Anyway, was a great trip, too short but would definately recommend going there and would recommend the Sands as well, it was very well kept up, the pools were great and everything was very clean

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJBurk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2009

Not much to say, just that this hotel is a dirty dump! We checked out after 4 hours and booked in to the Regent Palms. Never again. If you like to shower with bugs, sleep in dirty sheets, be screened in on your balcony and have no functioning phone or hot water than book at the sands. I would not recommend....Good luck if you do.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fontainbleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sands_Managment, Manager at The Sands at Grace Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2010

We set very high standards, this is be tolerated by the hotel. However, the patio is screened in, so you can enjoy your patio in the evening and at night without the bugs. Its one of our key features at The Sands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2009

We chose the Sands because of the reviews we read and we had the time of our lives. Bothof us have travelled around the world to numerous islands nad we found the SANDs and Tuks and and Caicos the most beautiful and Affordableyet. Our oceanveiw room was spaciocios and well kept. The staff kept it stocked and neat and watching the sunset from our porch and the ocean with a cup of coffee in the morning was incredible. Hemmingways was reasnobly priced like any restraunt around here in Boston. There were pricier places around but the sands and Hemmingways was the best bang foryour buck. We will be back next year no question about it!!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eddieg11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews