We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
West Bay Club(Providenciales)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windsong Resort(Providenciales)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kokomo Botanical Resort(Providenciales)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Vista Azul Resort(Providenciales)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Queen Angel Resort(Providenciales)
View Hotel
One On Marlin(Providenciales)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Turtle Cove Inn(Providenciales)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,984)
Filter reviews
1,984 results
Traveler rating
1,577
299
78
24
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,577
299
78
24
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexhale spabeach bedscore fusiongrant friedmanturks caicosour honeymoonrain showerbeach barbeach staffevery morninghotel is beautifulcoco bistrobottle of champagneocean frontcouples massageomelet stationturn down service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
944 - 949 of 1,984 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2014

First of all, let me mention that, for better or worse, this is a very
family-friendly hotel. We went there to get married during the first
days of Spring and there were more people with families there than
not. Quiet, well-behaved children, but lots of them. Hands down, the
best thing about the Gansevoort TCI is the location. You are ten
minutes from everything by cab, and very close to the supermarket and
the Venetian Ridge Villas where people who cannot afford $1200 per
night (watch out for that 22% VAT!) at the Gansevoort, such as our
wedding guests. The Gansevoort beach is pristine and in the middle of
all the activities of Provo, and reefs for snorkeling and it is the
only resort is adjacent to a public park (and therefore not an endless
chain of resorts to either side). The Gansevoort served as an
excellent HQ for our wedding operations with our guests staying
offsite and being able to come to our hotel to visit the beach and do
activities and a beautiful place to get married.

That being said, let me explain what you get for your money's worth.
The food is expensive. $48 per entree. Fine, it was my honeymoon,
spare no expense, every single meal took over 45 minutes to come out
of the kitchen, was bland, uninspired, unrefined, and overcooked. This
includes the best restaurants on the island like Stelle, Grace's
Cottage, (though we heard good things about Coco). The breakfast at
the Gansevoort was good but gets boring (we stayed for seven nights)
and everything on the menu at Stelle is "Meh." We spent thousands on
food and didn't have one good meal on the islands.

At the Gansevoort, the rule of thumb is that if you ask for something
three times, and wait extra long, you may get what you want or need.
On TCI and especially at the Gansevoort, they love to say no. No to
this appointment at the spa, no to free water (as opposed to the $8
bottles of Fiji they are incessantly trying to hawk to you). They'll
make you wait and wait and wait until you realize that, while
everything moves on "island time," they are extra slow and give that
much less of a hoot at the Gansevoort. HOUSEKEEPING will inevitably
forget something and the CONCIERGE will tell you to call the FRONT
DESK who will tell you that HOUSEKEEPING can only bring you water in
your thousand dollar a night room during turndown service. And this
vicious loop is how everything works from getting pillows to room
service to towels in the room to towels and water on the beach, and so
on. They love to say no or pretend they never heard you to begin with.
There is no value whatsoever in the inflated costs of the islands.
They are beautiful and secluded and safe and the waves are small, but
everything is so outrageously expensive, everyone on the islands has
their hands in your pockets, and you could go to Bali, and it will
cost the same.

Overall, the TCI, and especially the Gansevoort are overrated. The
beaches are only marginally better than elsewhere in the Caribbean
where things cost a fifth as much as TCI. The Gansevoort was the
worst most expensive hotel I have stayed in, and I am a
connoisseur of the $550+ international hotel room, and the service
here is pitiful for what you are paying. They love to say no. And I
was always fighting to not pay $8 for water* and they also tip themselves, lie about what food is imported/already on the island, 2 min away from the resort, ask about your diet restrictions to better ignore them, charge $500 for a table on a beach with one waiter.And don't answer emails.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
7  Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Turks + Caicos, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Dan B,

Thank you for your thorough review. Firstly, we want to congratulate you on your nuptials and are honored you chose to celebrate your honeymoon with in Turks+Caicos. We are deeply disappointed that your experience was not completely up to par and we hope you will return to give us the opportunity to provide a better experience. We apologize for the confusion between our concierge and housekeeping team. We strive to provide our guests with a seamless experience and your feedback is extremely appreciated as it will assist us in improving our services. We are following up with this and will be sure to relay your remarks to those involved. We regret you were not pleased with our cuisine, and if you do choose to return, Stelle’s chef will personally prepare a meal that delights your palate or our concierge team will be happy to coordinate other popular dining destinations around the island. Please feel free to contact Digital@TheGHG.com with any questions or further concerns.


Sincerely,
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The hotel itself and the staff were amazing great service on the beach and in the beach grill resto.
The Only disappointment was the Stelle restaurant, food choices and portions were very limited and expensive for what you received. The service and the staff kind of made up for it a bit with their positive attitudes and attentiveness

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelWithAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Turks + Caicos, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear TravelWithAndy,

Thank you for the lovely review. We are saddened that your experience at Stelle Restaurant was not up to par. We are in the we are constantly refining our menu to satisfy various palates and cravings. We hope the next time you visit you'll find a substantial improvement, allowing for a flawless trip. Additionally, our team is always happy to provide guests with alternative dining recommendations throughout the area. There is much to explore around the island, including delectable cuisines. We are thrilled that you enjoyed Stelle Bar + Grill by the beach. There is something incredibly special about enjoying a mouthwatering meal while synchronously gazing out to a beautiful view of the ocean. We work intently to provide our guests with outstanding and memorable experiences and are pleased you found our team to be positive and attentive during your stay. We look forward to having you again!

Sincerely,

Gansevoort Turks + Caicos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

My husband and I traveled to Turks & Caicos for a 4 day getaway from our hectic life (twin boys!) and chose Gansevoort on the recommendation of our neighbors. We are so glad they suggested it because we fell in love from our first second on the property! The modern white architecture is so calming and gorgeous, and really blends with the stunning beach. Seriously the nicest beach I have ever been to!! Soft, pure white sand, and shockingly turquoise clear as glass water! Comfy beach and pool chairs with attendants who set up your space with lovely towels and make sure you are comfortable. There are hobby-cats, snorkel equipment, toys for kids, etc. on the beach. The pool is awesome, really cool design! The rooms are plain, but the incredible views are the main focus! Comfortable beds, modern furnishings, very cool bathrooms with view out to ocean as well. The concierge was extremely helpful with booking dinners, excursions, and even loaned me a flat iron when for the week when I realized I had left mine behind. Brendan at the beach stuck out as a very helpful and caring person...took the time to stop and chat and talk about life on the island, made us feel so welcomed. We enjoyed the breakfast, nice selection. Lunches at the beach bar also had a great selection and we ate something different every day. We ate dinner only once at Stelle, the restaurant in the hotel, and didn't love it, but it was certainly fine. The great thing is that you are not stuck there to eat all your meals...conceirge made great recommendations and its a short and easy cab ride to places like Coco Bistro and Anacaona which were our favorite two restaurants. We loved it at Gansevoort so much that we cancelled an upcoming vacation we are taking with the kids to return to Gansevoort with them! Highly urge you to try it if you are on the fence! We can't wait to get back there!

Room Tip: We stayed in an ocean view studio and it was gorgeous.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Turks + Caicos, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Rachel A,

Thank you for the lovely review. We are delighted that you and your husband had such a memorable stay. It was a pleasure having you and we'll be sure to inform Brendan and the rest of our team of your kind sentiments. We're pleased that you felt very welcomed and appreciated, as our team strives to provide each of our guests with the attention and dedication they deserve. We're glad our team was able to provide additional dining recommendations, but we regret that you were not completely satisfied with your experience at Stelle. We are constantly refining our menu and dishes to please all palates and hope that on your next trip, you will be able to taste the improvements. Nonetheless, we're thrilled that you've already planned your next stay with us and look forward to having you and your family. We have a plethora of family activities to offer, ranging from from exploring the only conch farm in the world, to kayaking eco tours and wilderness tours. Please feel free to contact us at Digital@TheGHG.com if there is anything we can help with to ensure a seamless experience for your next trip. We look forward to taking care of you again.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I went to the bar and ordered a few drinks for my girlfriend and I while waiting for the parasailing boat to arrive ... and the bartender poured a couple of nice drinks!

.....just then I knocked the demo drinks over the bar along with a stool with white cushions.
The bartender didn't make me feel like a <insert a word or two> and I really appreciated it.
I was really embarrassed and that could have been much worse for me...thank you kindly!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BangForBuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Turks + Caicos, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear BangForBuck,

Thank you for the delightful review. We are pleased that you and your girlfriend had such a positive experience. Our team continuously strives to create a comfortable and relaxing environment for our guests. Furthermore, if you enjoyed parasailing, you may be interested in some of our other water activities such as scuba diving or jet skiing. There is nothing more beautiful than exploring the wildlife of the ocean, often filled with schools of exotic fish, turtles, rays and many more! We also offer the 'Big Blue' package which provides guests with welcome cocktails and daily scuba diving along with several other amenities. We look forward to your next visit and hope to create many more island memories with you.

Sincerely,
Gansevoort Turks + Caicos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We did a ton of research on the best place to stay for our first trip to Turks and decided that Gansevoort looked to have everything we were looking for. Very much a boutique hotel and although it was probably near capacity while were were there, we felt like we had the place to ourselves. Beach might be one of the best beaches we had ever been on and the colour of the ocean was beautiful - unlike anything we've ever seen. Pool area is beautiful and was always a great option for the afternoon once we had enough of the sun & beach. Small and easy to get around with everything at your fingertips. Gym is small but has everything you need for quick vacation workout. Bikes were free from the front and we used to bike into Salt Mills town one day. Concierge was very helpful prior to arrival in helping us book some diving.

We had Ocean View room with a great balcony and were very happy with it. We are pretty particular with hotel rooms as well and don't just settle for anything. Very very relaxing and just what we were looking for. Breakfast buffet was perfect and had everything you are you looking for. We ate at the Beachside Bar & Grill a few times for late lunch and it was very good. Never actually ate dinner at the restaurant as we opted to try places off the resort every night. Some great places within walking distance for sunset drinks & dinner. Its literally directly beside the Thursday Fish Fry so look no further than that for your Thursday dinner. Walked on beach at night and always felt very safe

First stop when coming from airport was nice touch. Only complaint I had was that nobody actually told us that breakfast was included when we booked or arrived so actually missed it the first day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorontoRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Manager at Gansevoort Turks + Caicos, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear TorontoRam,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We're thrilled that you enjoyed our beautiful beach and luxurious pool area. The turquoise waters of Turks + Caicos is truly magnificent and can fill any vacation with magical moments. Did you have a chance to try our beach beds or island pods? They are exceptionally comfortable and are wonderful for relaxing in paradise. On another note, we sincerely apologize for the confusion regarding our complimentary breakfast. We appreciate your feedback and will be sure to share your remarks with the rest of our team. We continuously strive to provide our guests with a seamless and memorable stay, and hope to continuously surpass our guests' expectations. Furthermore, we're pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience at Stelle Beach Bar + Grill. Did you happen to catch the sunset during your late lunches? The view is quite mesmerizing. We look forward to your next visit and hope to create more blissful experiences with you.

Sincerely,

Gansevoort Turks + Caicos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews