We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”
Review of Shenzhen Airlines


Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Boarding and check in procedures good and timely but as a fairly new airline to LHR gates along way from departure lounges 15 to 20 minutes flight okay but needed to ask for more drinks as a bit slow and of course all Chinese styled food noodles for breakfast !!! Air staff very friendly and spoke some English
Took the return flight aswell but got better seats on emergency exits so more leg room
Remember not many English speaking movies of any so load your phone or tablet

Date of travel: April 2019
Thank martyn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the airline for you if you want low cost, long haul flights...but without frills and the very painful process to transit through Shenzhen. Has potential if they can improve check in, IFE and transit arrangements.

Good points: Low cost fares; modern aircraft (A330) with surprisingly good legroom; great in-flight mapping technology (Panasonic); and friendly crew.

Bad Points: Impossible-to-understand website prevents online check in for non-Chinese speakers; check in chaotic, with random seat allocations to parties travelling together; uncomfortable seats despite the good legroom; good IFE tech (screen etc) but very poor choice and almost nothing for non-Chinese speakers; meal services tasty...but the same menu for both meals...and for both outward and return flights.

Shenzhen Airport transit is awful. A modern airport but transit pax must get a visa to enter China - a slow, chaotic and bureaucratic process that took 2.5 hours on way out. Signage is poor, English is not spoken, and none of the food outlets accept 'normal' international payment (VISA, Mastercard etc) methods. Just not geared up for transit and/or international travellers.

Date of travel: April 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank guywhit2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was travelling with a group of students and the automated check in process to use less than 5 minutes total. It was the same for both our departure and return. This was refreshing after so many poor check in experiences.

Date of travel: March 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank davesaintgermain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2019

Half an hour late taking off. Good coach legroom. Friendly, helpful attendants, but limited
English.
Food and drink service included.

Date of travel: April 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank TravelinAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2019

Being a Gold member of Star Alliance, I enjoyed getting a preferred seat with extra legroom, and since there were a few empty seats on the flight, the check-in person arranged for my aisle seat to have an empty seat beside me, making the enjoyment factor that much higher. I would have rated the overall flight experience as Very Good, but being offered and without asking to have an empty seat beside me, I feel that the airline went over and above. Thus, I'll rate the experience as Excellent.

Date of travel: March 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
84  Thank KodoDrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.