We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A large section of Premium Economy seating went unused”
Review of United Airlines


Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On my last trip flew to and from San Jose, Costa Rica on planes that had huge sections unused due to pricing. The rear section of the plane was sold out. The center section was nearly empty. We were told if we wanted to move, That section was premium economy and we would have to pay a steep three digit upcharge fee, Even after the plane was in the air the fee remained. How does it make any sense to fly a plane 4 hours with nearly a third of the seats unsold and unused. The "premium" seats were not any wider, the free movies were the same, the pretzels and services were the same. Probably had more leg room.

Date of travel: March 2019
1  Thank SeacayII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (40,890)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

798 - 802 of 40,890 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked the Economy Plus cabin for this flight but as the flight was not full we were fortunate to be upgraded to United's new Premier Plus cabin. This provided a much better experience in the very large seats with rising footrest, large folding tray and high quality headphones for the AV service. The flight left early and was super fast at around 6.5 hours instead of the expected 7.5. Not enough time really to enjoy properly the free drinks servive that was available
Cabin crew were courteous and professional and overall this was a very calm and pleasing experience.

Date of travel: April 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Eddiep2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Please pay attention when you make your booking to whether the airline has outsourced your flight to someone else. I bought tickets on Air Japan. I read reviews and knew that this airline has an excellent reputation (nice aircraft, nice crew, good food). Later I found out that all the flights were operated by United - a mediocre company with bad food (I actually got sick after eating a sausage they gave me). But they brought me there and back all right, though not on time.

Date of travel: April 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Shpringimbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The flight was smooth - The service was great- Staff was very eager to please- Food was good- In flight entertainment was great plenty of new release movies-

Date of travel: March 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Beefman3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A fun way to get to see some of the Marshall Island, Micronesia, and Palau. You will see small island communities away from the continental mainstream.

Date of travel: April 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Michael B T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.