We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so experience”
Review of TAP Air Portugal


Reviewed May 20, 2019

At Jfk the check in counter is at the opposite end of the terminal from the gate, so expect to walk. TAP has no business class lounge. Check in counter personnel were very friendly and helpful. Counter does not open until 2 hrs before the flight and there is no place to sit.
On board service was good, but not outstanding.

Date of travel: May 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank jackietrehorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (15,799)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

223 - 227 of 15,799 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2019

This was our first flight on TAP and will not be our last. On board, we had plenty of legroom and seat room. The food and wine was good and plentiful. The air hostesses were friendly and attentive. We booked our trip far in advance and our initial flight was cancelled. They put us on a flight earlier in the day. This conflicted with other travel plans so we had to call TAP to arrange a later flight. We spoke with customer service and they could not have been more accommodating. It was far easier than we had anticipated and we had good flights and good seats before we even hung up the phone. We were very satisfied.

Date of travel: May 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2019

We booked a flight from Zurich to Atlanta but had to cancel it due to unforeseen circumstances. Obviously we were charged an arm and a leg to cancel, which was fine. We tried to do it online so we wouldn’t have to pay the extra fees for canceling over the phone but the website to cancel online was NOT SECURE and they wanted all of our bank account info. On top of that, we have American accounts and there was no way to put American accounts in even if were willing to risk a non secured website (we would never do that). We called and they said oh well it’s safe you can do it we wouldn’t let your bank info get out ... like what? No. We aren’t going to give you our bank information on a non-secured site. So we had to do it over the phone and we were charged an extra $100 for each ticket. So in total we lost $300 per ticket to cancel our flight and a large part was because there was literally no way to cancel the flight online anyway. It then Took them about 2 months to issue the refund onto our credit card .... why couldn’t we get a refund online onto our credit card? Idk that’s a good question that they weren’t able to answer when we spoke on the phone. When we rebooked this trip we purposely didn’t rebook with them, I will not give them our business and will go out of my way to find flights to and from Europe to make sure to avoid them.

Date of travel: May 2019
Thank Rachaelkoenig17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2019

They sent me an email about 2 weeks ahead of the flight that I could send in a bid to upgrade to business class, but it looked like I would have to bid at least $900 to have a reasonable chance of being successful, so I didn't do it. The flight was on time, good service, reasonable meals, good movies.

Date of travel: April 2019
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2019

Paid extra for seats with extra leg room on return flight, only to find out that the seating layout was different from site... ended up with the same leg room! Other than that, food and drinks were decent as well as entertainment options.

Date of travel: April 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Paulo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.