We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare experience with a flight journey operated by Singapore Airlines/ Silk Air”
Review of Singapore Airlines


Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A flight journey of 22 hrs 35 minutes involving a single stop, became a 46 hrs 22 minutes involving 3 stops eventually.

Our original flight was from Hyderabad to Seattle via Singapore.
* Hyderabad -> Singapore: Silk Air
* 3:15 layover in Singapore
* Singapore -> Seattle: Singapore Airlines
Total journey time: 22 hours 35 minutes

The initial flight from Hyderabad -> Singapore operated by Silk Air was delayed by more than 3 hours and 25 minutes, and hence our entire flight needed to be rebooked. No one gave us a specific reason why the flight got delayed, except the statement: "the incoming flight got delayed".

So the new itinerary that was booked for us was:
* Hyderabad -> Singapore: Silk Air
* 8 hrs lay over in Singapore
* Singapore -> Hongkong: Singapore Airlines
* 1 hr stop in Hongkong, where we had to deplane and go through security checkin again.
Hongkong -> San Francisco: Singapore Airlines
* 2 hrs stop in San Francisco where we had to finis our immigration, customs, and then go through the security again.
San Francisco -> Seattle: United
* Here, due to the incompetency of Silk Air/Singapore Airlines staff, United refused to board us (18 passengers) as the tickets were not be "endorsed" correctly, even though our baggage got into transported in to the plane, and they had enough seats for all of us.

Finally, some of us got rebooked to a 05:30 flight and some of us to a 06:35 flight in the morning, where most of us spent the night in the Airport.

Date of travel: September 2019
2  Thank U K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (22,685)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

218 - 222 of 22,685 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really enjoyed our flight. The crew was friendly and they served us very quickly. The entertainment system is great, lots of great movies and series. Food was okay. Flight went smooth and we arrived right on schedule

Date of travel: September 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
Thank paulrobertlups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Flight was excellent, staff were ever accommodating to your needs, definitely a 5 star airline. Seemed like more room in the seats which made it more comfortable. I am a very tall person and I had a very comfortable flght.

Date of travel: August 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank dogger21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I flew with Singapore Airlines from Cape Town to Phuket via Changi Airport. My favourite aircraft is the Airbus A350-900. The seats were comfortable, the legroom was spacious enough for me. The food was magnificent. The staff are very helpful, friendly and efficient. There were pillows and blankets for the passengers. The staff are very professional. I felt safe flying with this airline as they have an impeccable track record. If ever i must fly to Asia i will choose this airlines above any other.

Date of travel: September 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Adventure670055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We'd always heard how good Singapore Airlines is, and it appears to be true. Let's get the negative out of the way: check-in. It may be that U.S. regs prevent them from using online check-in, but that doesn't excuse the hour-long wait in line to check in. Or the chaos of boarding. But once on board, wow. The food is what passengers dream of. Two full meals on our 8.5 hour international flight. And the flight attendants -- they seem to hire only people who want to help. Smiling, eager to make the experience positive. Such a change from our flight over on United. We'd love to fly Singapore again.

Date of travel: September 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank JoeMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.