We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On time”
Review of KLM Royal Dutch Airlines


Reviewed 4 weeks ago

At the end of April I flew there and back to Curaçao with KLM.
The departure times were fine as were the staff. The Boeing 744-400 aircraft definitely need to be replaced (everything is cracking, my seat could not be in the OP position, so the passenger behind me had less space and you see that there is an old machine)
Due to the holiday period, we have had to pay nearly three times
the normal price for the tickets

Date of travel: April 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank didu s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLM_Royal_Dutch1, Social Media Agent at KLM Royal Dutch Airlines, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We believe you may be referring to one of our 747-400's. These grand old dames have been serving us well for many years but is indeed advancing in age. We are adding newer aircraft to our fleet and we hope you get to experience one such as the Dreamliner. Nonetheless, we do appreciate your feedback. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (25,639)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

257 - 261 of 25,639 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First, Business Class in a 787 Dreamliner sets the highest bar of any airplane. I’d guess First Class on an international flight is in yet another league, one that I’ll never be able to afford. I couldn’t believe how large the synthetic light adjustable windows are nor how large the bathroom is. The lay flat, continually adjustable seats we’re totally comfortable and, at my 5’10” height, I could tell they were long enough for some one over 6 foot tall. I didn’t measure, but my personal HD television with noise reduction headphones had to be 20” diagonal. Then the food, wine and service: all were impeccable. I was very pleased with the selection of wines, including a very nice vintage port. KLM, not unlike other airlines, tag your bags for priority handling, but they actually make your bags a priority.

Date of travel: May 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank LesDye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLM_Royal_Dutch1, Social Media Agent at KLM Royal Dutch Airlines, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We're glad to learn that the newest addition to our fleet did not fail to impress. As consistency is the key, our onboard services and amenities, all the way through to baggage handling, naturally follows suit. All these comes together for the sole purpose of making your journey an experience in itself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were rebooked onto KLM after missing (through no fault of our own) our connecting business class flight from Frankfurt to Cape Town with Lufthansa, so flew from Frankfurt to Amsterdam and on to South Africa, business class.

Frankfurt business lounge: located opposite D26, overlooking metal roofs and an elevated concrete road beyond, KLM’s lounge was somewhat drab (beige/brown), with an equally drab choice of food and beverages, with food mostly in packages, with run-of-the-mill biscuits, snacks, choice of two hams and processed cheese. The sole redeeming feature was the fresh fruit salad. Neither did it offer the biggest newspaper/magazine selection or USB plugs at the various tables. There’s also no toilet (the closest is located outside down some stairs) and flights aren’t announced though there is a departure board near the entrance. Wifi was unsecured and requires registering. It’s not the biggest lounge but at least it wasn’t crowded at 6.00 am. 

Frankfurt to Amsterdam: flight on time, on Bombardier which came with tight seating and no free middle seat. Lufthansa didn’t warn KLM we’d been rebooked at the last minute so they didn’t have any food for us, though they tried hard to make up for it. Service extremely friendly, personable and very relaxed.

Amsterdam business lounge: fabulous, on several levels linked via escalators (walls dotted with KLM’s famous Dutch House collection), with outside terrace overlooking the runway; huge airy, pale, Scandinavian-style decor throughout; a large central bar; buffet tables with a wide range of foods, food options, restaurants; seating options, from bar stools to armchairs and lovely staff. I particularly liked the recyclable plates and cutlery. Despite being full, it is so spacious you don’t feel crowded. Easily the nicest business class lounge to date.

Amsterdam to Cape Town: older Boeing 777 with very attentive yet relaxed staff who provided a comfortable and memorable service. The food was good too, particularly the superb coconut beet soup and seafood-filled pasta shell starters, and cabin staff were extremely generous with the wine (not a bad selection which included a wine from Holland) and alcohol (you get to choose a Bols-filled miniature Delft Blue house to take home with you). I highly recommend the signature, refreshing Flying Dutchman cocktail as well as the excellent teas. Snacks including Leonidas ice cream, were available to nibble on throughout the flight. A good list of films and comfortable headphones kept us entertained and the amenity kit included the usual, with better than average socks and lovely peppermint lipgloss. The only slight letdown was the seat (not the widest and not exactly flat) and storage (especially beside the window as the compartment was angled). The bursar came round at the end of the flight to see how everything had gone. 

Verdict: super impressed with KLM, its stunning Amsterdam lounge and more relaxed approach to business class flying. We liked it so much that we’ve already enrolled in their loyalty program.

Date of travel: April 2019
Thank wucie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLM_Royal_Dutch1, Social Media Agent at KLM Royal Dutch Airlines, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We truly appreciate such a balanced and objective review. Furthermore, we're glad to have had the opportunity to provide you with alternative flights and show you our brand of service. As it stands, we shall let your kind words speak to others who may come across this and just say thank you, with a warm welcome to the Flying Blue family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

good flight !, average food, nice crew ,good price, good plane shape, i can fly again with them again because they are considered professional.

Date of travel: July 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Sleiman121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLM_Royal_Dutch1, Social Media Agent at KLM Royal Dutch Airlines, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are nothing if not professional indeed. But we pride ourselves more with providing a personal touch to the service we provide you when flying with us. We look forward to having you in one of our future flights.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I love KLM Royal Dutch Airlines. I took the flight from Beijing to London and transited in Amsterdam. The leg-room and seat comfort is are really great. I also enjoyed great food and beverage on the plane. The onboard experience and customer service are also excellent. KLM Royal Dutch Airlines will definitely be one of your choices if you decide to book a flight.

Date of travel: October 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank AnthonySoigau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLM_Royal_Dutch1, Social Media Agent at KLM Royal Dutch Airlines, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the lovely review, Anthony! Learning that passengers such as yourself had a wonderful experience flying with us only inspires us to consistently deliver the service worthy of such praise. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.