We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost great”
Review of KLM Royal Dutch Airlines


Reviewed July 1, 2017 via mobile

The 747 from Chicago to Amsterdam was comfortable and the crew was outstanding. The plane will soon be retired but flying in the upper level and the pods were very comfortable. The only issue was it doesn't have wifi. From Amsterdam to Cape Town we were on a 787 and it was nice but the pods were cramped. The wifi wasn't working and I didn't bring enough to read! The crew was great!
All the meals were good except the white fish.

Date of travel: June 2017
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
1  Thank Jgchicag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (25,559)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8,139 - 8,143 of 25,559 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2017

KLM has been steady for quite a while now. Maybe not the world's best airline, but who can compete with the Middle East airlines? For an airline that has to make money (and is one of the few doing so), they are quite good. Their home base of Schiphol is easy to navigate and offers the most direct flights in the Europe
Staff on the KLM flight always is friendly to very friendly, but they enjoy their passengers to be sympathetic, too. Their new business class is quite a good product. Lie flat chairs, tasty decor (made from recycled uniforms, KLM is conscious of sustainability, too) and good wines. The food generally is good, too. Especially if you fly from AMS. If you return, KLM gets their food from local caterers and although it i good, it isn't 'designed' by the top chefs in the Netherland so choices are different. Departure was ontime, arrival late due to airport congestion due to work on one of the runways, so not really airlines fault. Baggage arrived in reasonable time.

Date of travel: June 2017
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Stalex24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2017

KLM new World business class service was very good. Food, in-flight entertainment, seating comfort were as expected and in flight service was attentive and friendly. I would recommend the new world business class if not for the poor service for business class travelers (sky priority) ar Schiphol airport.
At Geneva airport and Kuala Lumpur airports there are priority/fasttrack lanes for business class ticket holders going through customs checks and immigration.
There were NONE at Schipol airport. One of the main criteria for business class travelers paying more than thrice the cost of an economy class ticket is not only the comfort on board and use of business lounge but also the priority lanes for getting through customs and immigration. This is especially so if you do not hold an European or Swiss passport, you ending in a long winding queue of half an hour with everyone else and defeats the purpose of paying so much more for a business class ticket.
I will definitely be looking at other airlines business class from now one. What a pity when KLM got everything right except their airport service in their home country!

Date of travel: June 2017
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank tracks-tracks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2017

Really nothing special for such an expensive flight (US$10,000). No recognition of my TSA Precheck status at the airport (KLM don't participate). Seat was very hard and narrow for sleeping. So much so it cut the circulation off from my shoulders when I tried to lay down. Food was reasonable although I don't eat much on overnight flights. Not very impressed

Date of travel: June 2017
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank mhorton44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2017

All aspects of the flight, from check in to early landing and the service was very good. Very pleasant crew.
Even managed to get my excellent Asian vegetarian meal and a non Lactose meal for my wife.
Tranfer at Schipol was fantastic ...out of the arrival gate and our plane was waiting at the neighbouring gate.
We felt like we had received GOOD value for our money...isn't that what is important ??

Date of travel: June 2017
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.