We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best flight to japan.”
Review of Japan Airlines (JAL)


Reviewed July 4, 2019

I have been flight to Japan many times, and tired various airlines such as British Airways, SAS and Finnair.
Japan Airlines is by far better than any of the others. The service is on a whole different level. The staff is very polite, respectful and helpful. the flight is a lot calmer and passes faster. The food is excellent, even in economy. Worth every penny.

Date of travel: May 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Igorek2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (9,081)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

500 - 504 of 9,081 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2019

Experienced world round trip on One World Group, AY, BA, AA and JAL. AY's new A350 C class seat was comfortable and flight attendant were friendly. Food and drink were standard. BA flight inside Europe, even it was very short flight, they served food and drink efficiently. Just worked for service in time. Then BA long flight, C Class seat arrangement is not very comfortable because seat side by side are sitting looking each other. Space among seat was minimal. BA lounge at Heathrow was good. AA service inside USA was minimum. Poor food and drink service same as other US base airline. After these flight experiencs, JAL flight from San Francisco to Haneda was the best, check in, lounge service, inflight food and drink and flight attendant. When you have choice among One World flight, my recommendation is use JAL.

Date of travel: June 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
2  Thank samsX1243PM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2019

We flew on two separate JAL flights, one Bangkok to Tokyo, one Tokyo o Seattle. We really enjoyed both of these flights. Though any airlines economy seats suck for legroom, sorry. It seats shouldn’t recline when it’s this tight. We adored the flight attendants on both flights, friendly, efficient. Food was OK. I ordered gluten free and all 3 meals were fish, which I enjoyed. But their idea of fruit was two separate dishes of the same melon, ugh. But we would definitely fly JAL again.

Date of travel: June 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
2  Thank Mokimomma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2019

The service you get from the crew members were excellent. They were very polite in every way. Also, little things like a free toothbrush in the toilet helped a lot. The toilet was always kept clean by the staff.

Date of travel: June 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank SBS213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2019 via mobile

Only 88 seats in economy in their 787 so the space is maximized to give extra pitch and larger seats ..nearly premium..Food and staff stunning as expected in any japanese business .It was a really great flight ..I will certainly fly again on JAL

Date of travel: May 2019
Thank Phuketfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.