We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent flights”
Review of Japan Airlines (JAL)


Reviewed January 15, 2017

Purchased business class on sale roundtrip from LAX to NRT (we live in San Jose but the business class prices from SFO were more expensive, so used reward points to fly free to LAX to take advantage of the business class sale from there). Amazing service and amenities were a great way to start and finish our trip to Japan. Flew a 777-300ER roundtrip. Individual pods with lie flat seats and large privacy partitions between seats. Excellent space for storing items that you want at hand (as well as overhead storage). Large screen for movies, videos, etc, with great earphones. Blankets, slippers, and amenity kits were waiting in our seats when we boarded, and cardigans were distributed shortly after takeoff. We reserved Western and Japanese meals ahead of time, but my husband and son easily switched to Japanese meals for the flight home once boarded. Also an amazing array of dishes (such as sandwiches, udon, bento box, even ice cream) available on demand during the flight up to two hours before landing. The bathroom was kept spotless with toothbrush kits and mouthwash available at all times. What really made the flights stand out was the service--attentive, friendly, calm and well organized--with flight attendants coming to our seats to personally thank each of us for flying. Arigato JAL! Will definitely fly this airline again.

Date of travel: January 2017
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank mere_du_matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (9,081)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,363 - 2,367 of 9,081 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2017

very comfortable seat with 34 inch pitch leg room.rated as one of the best airline in economy class. service is excellent with all smiling face from air stewardess. Food and beverage are superb. quality of touch screen LCD is very good. finally the air ticket price is couple hundred higher than low cost carrier. I will continue fly JAL

Date of travel: December 2016
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
2  Thank Loi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2017

This was a good service and the lounge was very good. The only down side I thought was that the service was a little lax. I think that was mainly due to the Hostess's lack of proactivity and being a little shy. On arrival in Helsinki we received our bags promptly. This was a long haul flight and we arrived at the other end feeling fresh and ready to go. The main reason to fly business class

Date of travel: December 2016
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Muruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2017

Flown the JAL international business class before and was pampered from start to finish. Got this domestic business ticket for around a 1000 yens extra and honestly could not see much difference from an economy seat except that I was asked if I wanted to wrap my check in luggage in a plastic bag. When we retrieved our luggage on arrival, a ground staff came rushing to help dispose of the plastic bag. Lounge pass was not included which was a bit disappointed but everything on the light was done in grace and perfection - the Japanese way.

Date of travel: December 2016
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2017 via mobile

Super comfortable seat in I have ever got for economy class. And the staff is very kind and very good.foods are very tasty and have nice smell as well.you can enjoy the world entertainment as well with JAL flights. From the beginning flight crew trying to give comfortable journey to us. Highly recommended.cheers !!!

Date of travel: November 2016
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
2  Thank rajitha_wijekoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.