We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I feel ripped off”
Review of Etihad Airways


Reviewed December 18, 2017

I paid $2400 to upgrade the flight to First Class two days before, due to weather delays I chose, at the gate, to wait for my daughter who had trouble checking in the luggage. I was not informed that I would lose the upgrade and my $2400. Despite please to the airport staff and the telephone help desk Etihad refused to upgrade or refund.

I feel ripped off.

    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, movies)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
2  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EtihadHelper, Manager at Etihad Airways, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2017

Hello David, the refund is as per the fare rules. Therefore when your booking doesn't allow a refund you won't receive it.
If you like you can send us your booking details in a private message and we check it for you. *Ela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (11,214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,889 - 2,893 of 11,214 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2017

They are good but not one of the best airline. They have a good aircraft and if you are getting the ticket cheaper then go for it but if you are getting it expensive then i would prefer to look for other airline. If you compare with other airline it's expensive but if you booked your tickets don't worry you will have great flight

    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, movies)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank Ahsan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EtihadHelper, Manager at Etihad Airways, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2017

Hi Ahsan, Rates will vary depending on current promotions in the region, cabin class and season you are booking for. Please visit our website http://bit.ly/1gU66sZ or get in touch with our contact centre, the contact details can be found on our website through this link: http://bit.ly/1eRNZ94. Thank you.*Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2017

Cheaper price, punctual, not much transit waiting time, food as per choice, infight services excellent. In the last 6 months travelled 3 times with Etihad.

    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, movies)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank DineshKumarA12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EtihadHelper, Manager at Etihad Airways, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2017

This is great to hear Dinesh, we look forward to the fourth time :) *Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2017 via mobile

Friendly crew and a smooth flight. On time. Seat room ok. Can not expect more in Eco.
Food was ok. 3 main meals to choose. I had chicken with mashed potatoes. Got my fast track immigration card dir to my FQ status.

    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, movies)
    • Value for money
Thank Gilles V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EtihadHelper, Manager at Etihad Airways, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2017

We are glad that you had a pleasant experience while flying with us and hope to see you on board again soon *Bob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2017

Our flight was ok nothing special, a lot of empty seats, drinks are slow, Oh sorry i forgot has been used more than a couple of times. the width of the seats are narrow, and not much seat belt, not sure why. Films going to Male were fine coming back NO games and only a handful of films and needed re setting a couple of times, 2 Very large people had an argument with a couple of old people and a lot of language was used didn't want to hear that, not the airlines fault, but if the seats had been wider the whole situation could of been avoided, A stewardess had he boyfriend on board, he got the extra blankets and pillow and extras from business class, bottles of water, and his meal first. Not bad. Overall if you are larger the seats are narrow, films do not always work and get your own drinks. I am not being rude about people but i am small and i found it tight you cannot get comfy or wriggle. I am just advising.

    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service (e.g. attitude, care, helpfulness)
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight entertainment (WiFi, TV, movies)
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and Boarding (e.g. efficiency, service at gate)
Thank k r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EtihadHelper, Manager at Etihad Airways, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2017

Hi k r,

Thank you for sharing you feedback with us. We are sorry your experience was not as expected and will definitely pass on your feedback so we can improve our future services. We hope you can fly with us again and we can make you change your mind. *Sky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.