We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”
Review of Wingo


Reviewed January 21, 2020 via mobile

One of the worst if not the worst customer service that I have expereienced. It seems the economic fares also include terrible service and impossible platform for the website check in.

Date of travel: January 2020
Thank 785juank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 448 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2019

Enticed by the prices but with some trepidation because of the awful reviews, I have booked Wingo direct from the US and flown from Bogota to Quito twice in the last 12 months. Both were good experiences and, by way of comparison, vastly better than the ones on legacy carrier COPA or budget carrier EasyFly.

For those willing to give Wingo a try, here are some tips for a good experience.

1 - Pay the $5 US extra/person for web checkin. The English version is clear and easy to use.

2 - Pay the $5 US extra/person for "fila rapida" - fast checkin. My experience from something like 25 boardings in South America in the last year is that check-in counters are often a mob scene. With "fila rapida," you waltz past the mob and check in almost instantly. My sense is they treat you more as a valued customer, too, but that could be my imagination.

3 - Print out your purchase receipt or otherwise save it before leaving home. My experience with ALL airlines, including in the US and Europe, is that their online check-in will ask if you want to purchase extras like fila rapida and hold baggage without telling you that you already paid for them when you bought the ticket. When you are traveling with multiple reservations, it is easy to forget which airlines you paid for what.

4 - Read the small print on your receipt!

The printed-boarding-pass requirement is crystal clear (#13). If you have chosen web check-in, you can have your hotel, hostal or a print shop print your boarding pass from 72-4 hours before boarding.

Also crystal clear are the requirements for showing your exit ticket from some countries: (#9. Required documentation to travel). Here's what that one says.

"You are responsible for carrying all the necessary travel documents ... provided by the effective regulations of the departure, transit or destination countries.Passengers must keep in mind that some immigration regulations require Wingo to ensure all passengers - who are not citizens or legal residents of the destination country - have a means of transportation to leave the destination country." COPA and other airlines demanded the same.

As others have said, Wingo is a budget airline. Not expecting frills (including free food and drink) sets the expectation level helps avoid disappointment.

That said, Wingo is admirably transparent about the limitations of their services, they are flying modern, comfortable airplanes (USB ports at every seat on our flight!), and we have found their ground and air staff uniformly friendly and professional.

We also appreciate the ability to carry on more than 35 pounds of luggage (one personal item up to 6k and one overhead up to 10k) without charge.

Date of travel: December 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Legroom
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank Dorito50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2019

Is a good service, with rigth price. you can buy food on flight and pay for extra space;.there is no entertainment,on board, only chairs.

Date of travel: April 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank Fabián R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2019

Amazingly when boarding the flight at the flight entrance they asked me where my return ticket was as I was flying to Dominican Republic. As I was returning to Dominican republic I did not have a return ticket. Then they asked me if I was a resident of Dominican Republic which I am not. So they did not want to let me on the flight and said this was company policy.
Logically flight personnel should check if your visa or entrance documents are in order, but requiring a return ticket is totally ridiculous. It seems that this is a Colombian thing/regulation. In any case something they need to work on, also last time the flight was delayed for 11 hrs and the provided me with a free ticket, unfortunately their call center never answers. Apart from that flying with them is pretty cool. Would be nice to get on the plane though.

Date of travel: December 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Legroom
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
3  Thank andreij2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2019

You get what you pay for, plain, simple, easy, no extra comfort. No screen or entertaiment on board.

Date of travel: November 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank ndavidch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.