We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flight was freezing cold”
Review of Thai Lion Air


Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Check in went smooth, we had read about paying for luggage before, so was not an issue, as some others found out. That is not the airlines fault. The main problem that we had was that the flight was very cold. There was no heating on board at all, even the cabin crew were shivering, and manty of the people were in t shirts and shorts. When questuined about it, we were told it would get too warm if thay put it on... Appart from that everything was just average, seats ok, food ok, ( we had ours in with the flight). Arrived and left on time..

Date of travel: September 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank alisdairt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 1,316 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had to wait 12 hours on airport due to reschedule. No refund, no alternative. Two words: terrible airline!

Date of travel: September 2019
Thank Jansendggh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The airplane we flew in was old and worn, seats were uncomfortable, staff was not the best, water costs money (including any other drinks or food), and the worst part is having to pay a ridiculous amount for checked baggage! They do not accept American currrency (credit cards) online. We tried to plan in advance and pay online for baggage. We called several times as we couldn’t understand why their site wasn’t working. After 5 calls to customer support that had difficulty communicating, we were told we could only use American currency if we arrived 3-4 hours before our flight to check in our bags. We arrived 10 mins. before the 3 hour cut off time and still had to pay a hefty fee.

Date of travel: September 2019
Thank jheidari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

2 passengers on 2 different weeks facing same problem... the airline cancels the Bangkok-Mumbai connection and puts the passenger on the next flight 15 hours later no prior information.. no empathy towards customers problem.. the customer service team in Thailand doesn't understand what you say and we don't understand a word they speak.. the supervisor is not available to talk to you. it's just not this but the overall experience with this airline is terribly bad and not worth a penny. it sells cheap tickets and cancels the flight also make sure to check the luggage allowance as well... call the customer service and be prepared to be on hold for more than 30 mins.

Date of travel: September 2019
Thank aparnat54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Thai Lion Air. DMK airport was bursting at the seams. But that's not the airlines' fault.

Bus to the plane, then boarding only through one door (option #2 was available).

The Boeing 737-800 looked new and seats were narrow and not comforbale.

The crew served FREE water and a tasty snack - and I paid about $ 54 to check in 25 kg. THAI would have cost me about $ 105 more (they offer 30 kg baggage allowance - Hanoi - Bangkok - Dhaka being my route).

Good pilots. Friendly staff. I would fly them again.

Date of travel: September 2019
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
Thank mm1esg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.