We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fly at your own risk ”
Review of Volotea


Reviewed November 2, 2018 via mobile

I have travelled all over the world and Volotea may be the worst airline I have ever encountered. We booked a 3.30 pm flight from Santorini months in advance to arrive in Venice in the late afternoon as we only had two days there, and a few weeks later Volotea changed it to 10.30 pm arriving at 11.30 pm due to "operational issues". It was not possible to get a refund so we had to go with the change and cancel our Airbnb to book a more expensive hotel near the airport as we arrived so late.

We were aware of having to print our boarding passes but what other airline makes passengers do this in 2018? Also unless you reserve a seat you only get access to print it 24 hours before the flight so you better have access to a printer and a laptop while on holiday as you can't save it as a PDF on your phone. Luckily our hotel printed it for us. Apparently there is an app which is not well advertised, but as we saw a very nice couple we met at the airport experience you will be charged €30 if you can't get the app to work on your phone.

I don't usually write such harsh reviews but I'm not sure how Volotea continue to operate with such disregard for customer service.

Date of travel: September 2018
1  Thank Vanessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volotea, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Volotea, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2018

Hi Vanessa P, we are really sorry to hear you did not have a great experience and please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. We inform you that you can send us a claim through the form you will find in our web page. We can assure you that this does not reflect the quality of service we wish to offer you. We hope to see you again on board our flights soon. Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (10,148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

174 - 178 of 10,148 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2018

An extra 30,- Euro fee (per ticket!) for checking in at the airport, never had that with any airline before....not a very customer friendly approach!

Date of travel: October 2018
    • Seat comfort
    • Customer service
    • Cleanliness
    • Food and Beverage
    • Legroom
    • In-flight Entertainment
    • Value for money
    • Check-in and boarding
1  Thank Andreas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volotea, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Volotea, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2018

Hello Andreas C, we are deeply sorry for your bad experience. We inform you that the details of the conditions are in our website and we are afraid that the boarding pass is mandatory. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2018 via mobile

This airline is looking to stick it, to tourists. We missed a flight on another airline and this forced us to book with Volotea. At the Santorini airport (which is the worst airport ever) you can’t print your boarding pass and they charge you €30 each ticket. They are all about charging sucker fees to their customers. Bad business Volotea
I will avoid flying Volotea Airlines.

Date of travel: September 2018
1  Thank JordanT25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volotea, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Volotea, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2018

Hi JordanT25, we are really sorry to hear you did not have a great experience and please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. We inform you that the details of the conditions are in our website and we are afraid that the boarding pass is mandatory. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2018

the flight was cancelled.
worst company ever!
There was no rescheduled flight. they put us in a bus and drove us instead.
dont book with them!

Date of travel: August 2018
1  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volotea, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Volotea, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2018

Hello David A, we are deeply sorry to hear you did not have a great experience and please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. We inform you that you can send us a claim through the form you will find in our web. We can assure you that this does not reflect the quality of service we wish to offer you. We hope to see you again on board our flights soon. Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2018

do not book through EDreams flight charge for 4 was 2 times the price of the flight that is the flight plus double for EDreams They are a rip off But Volotea was good service at airport, plane and flight all on time great flight Venice direct to Catania Sicily

Date of travel: October 2018
Thank douglas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volotea, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Volotea, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2018

Hello douglas, we are glad to read your message. We will be very happy to see you soon on board again. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.