We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cash while staying in West Bay

Chicago, Illinois
3 posts
Save Topic
Cash while staying in West Bay

We are staying in West Bay soon and I see that some local restaurants, etc accept only cash rather than cards.

Where is the best place to exchange USD for L following arrival at the airport?

Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
141 posts
2 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Cash while staying in West Bay

I'm not an expert but we were there for 2 weeks last year and for us, we took US dollars, remember to bring alot of singles for tips, they run out of small change at the hotels quite often

most places take US cash as opposed to Lemps so i'm not sure if you need to do an exchange.... and most places will take CC's ...but there is a fee and remember to tell your CC company that you are travelling as they sometimes put a hold on your account if they see some charges from somewhere half around the world..

.we did charge alot of meals on our cc and i was surprised about how low it was...some restaurants show the prices in Lemps and convert to US then CDN, on your cc, but the costs weren't outrageous..

Roatan its a wonderful place....i should be a poster girl for ROATAN...uh ok...i'm a little old for that......

AAAAAAAAAAAAAJHHHHHHHHHH cant wait to get back there!!!!!!

Roatan
Level Contributor
292 posts
22 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Cash while staying in West Bay

There is a Banco LaFise right at the airport. They also process the departure taxes but by the time you clear customs and get bags the departing people should be all processed into the departure lounge.

I don't think they do CDN dollars but if you have US they can exchange it. I would think $50 USD would cover water taxies and some off site drinks.

Roatan, Honduras
Level Contributor
585 posts
24 reviews