We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

First trip to Lapland 2013 - much help needed!!!

Level Contributor
24 posts
7 reviews
Save Topic
First trip to Lapland 2013 - much help needed!!!

My fiance and I are looking to spend a week in Lapland at the beginning of 2013 for my 30th. We are a young(ish) couple who are looking to snowboard/ski (both beginners), do the usual excursions, eat out and of course chase the Aurora Borealis. We've wanted to do this for so long (it's at the top of our bucket lists!) and have decided to bite the bullet as 2012 going into 2013 is meant to be the max of the 11 year solar cycle for light viewing. This is my first time booking a winter holiday so want to get it right. I have a few questions below:

DESTINATION: Saariselka, Yllas or Levi??

Which area do you think is most suited to us based on the before mentioned info? We would like somewhere that's quite busy and has lots to do seeing as we will be there for a week. Am I right in saying Saariselka is a lot more quieter than Yllas and Levi?

TIME: is there a better time of year to go?

Our options are January, February or March - comparing the 3 what are the main differences? Are there months that are cheaper than the other? Is there a lot more daylight and sunlight in March? What month do you think would be better for seeing the Northern Lights?

AGENCY: which tour operator do you recommend?

I have been basing all of my research on Google and the only operator that seems to accommodate what we want is Inghams. Are they good? Or are there others we should try?

ACCOMMODATION: cabins or hotel?