We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Altea - Walking Distance?

Which Altea hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
lancashire
Level Contributor
867 posts
Save Topic
Altea - Walking Distance?

We will be staying in an apartment in Altea Hills in June. We are renting a car but also like to walk, is Altea or Calpe within reasonable walking distance? I believe it is very hilly in this area!!

lancashire
Level Contributor
867 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: Altea - Walking Distance?

Anyone??

Benidorm, Spain
Destination Expert
for Benidorm
Level Contributor
4,979 posts
46 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Altea - Walking Distance?

I am not an expert on this area but I have been around Altea Hills a number of times and I regularly get to Calpe.

Altea Hills is, unsurprisingly, very hilly. The main road winds its way up the mountain and the urbanisations spread out from this.

You could walk to both Calpe & Altea. I guess it would be a good 30 min walk, possibly longer. However its all downhill to both towns. You would have to taxi back, unless you are used to trekking to Everest base camp.

I like Altea Hills. It seems quiet and pretty, with fantastic views across to Benidorm, Calpe and beyond to Ibiza (look for the "lump" coming out of the sea first thing in the morning when the sun rises).

Benidorm, Spain
Destination Expert
for Benidorm
Level Contributor
4,979 posts
46 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Altea - Walking Distance?

Oh and if you play golf Don Cayo Golf Club is located in Altea Hills. Its a private club but accepts guests and is very friendly. You need a handicap certificate.

Let me know if you have any questions. I will do my best to answer them.

Manchester, United...
Level Contributor
965 posts
Save Reply
4. Re: Altea - Walking Distance?