The Puente Romano (Roman Bridge) is a bridge that crosses the Sella River. The natives call the bridge El Puenton. It was not built during Roman times but built in the 13th century, when the Romans were long gone. However there used to be a Roman bridge there that was used in the Roman road that connected the Roman towns of Lucus Asturum (near Oviedo) and Portus Victoriae (Santander). The bridge has 5 arches and from the central arch hangs a copy of the Cross of Victory. King Pelayo used the real cross when he won the battle of Covadonga against the Moors and this was the start of the Reconquest of Spain. The bridge was restored in 1876 and between 1940 and 1943. The bridge has been declared as a Historic Artistic Monument in 1931. The natives call the bridge El Puenton.