We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tipping and Getting From The Cancun Airport

In cooperation with: Visit Mexico
Columbus, Ohio
2 posts
Save Topic
Tipping and Getting From The Cancun Airport

Hello,

I'm new to Tripadvisor and have enjoyed and appreciate reading feedback on the hotel we've selected, Azul Sensatori.

I was hoping to get some advice on tipping etiquette (US dollars? Pesos?) and getting from the Cancun airport to the hotel. Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Laura

Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
309 posts
91 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Tipping and Getting From The Cancun Airport

Hello Laura, USD and MXP are well received by hotel employees, but on my experience they seem to appreciate way more USD than MXP so bring on some 1 USD bills and that shall be good for you, on restaurants the usual tip is about 10% of the total bill and for bar waiters or any employee you would like to gratify is on your own will.

About the transfer to your hotel, there are a couple of ways to get there:

- Cab (the most expensive of the options)

- Arranged transfer (you can book it on the internet, i've found www.pricetravel.com for 80 USD round trip for 2 passengers and you may pay with visa mastercard and american express)

- Bus, there is an ADO bus station on the airport the ticket to playa del carmen is about 14 USD per trip per passenger and once there i'm guessing you would have to take a cab.

- Rent a car, not that expensive, lots of car rental agencies on the airport like Hertz, Avis, Europecar...etc, that shall be a plus if you are willing to explore Riviera Maya.

Hope that works for you

North Carolina
Level Contributor
5,218 posts
32 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Tipping and Getting From The Cancun Airport