We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Early April in the Berkshires?

Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
259 posts
11 reviews
Save Topic
Early April in the Berkshires?

I'm a teacher, and our spring break is in early April. Our family of 4 with 2 young children would like to get away for just 3 nights or so, so we're trying to decide on a location within a 6 hour drive from us (we're from Long Island).

I realize the weather may not be ideal, but is there anything to do this time of year in the Berkshires? From my research, a lot of other locations we were considering are pretty much shut down until May, including restaurants, so this is becoming more difficult than I anticipated.

We like to spend most of our time outdoors- hiking, sightseeing etc.

Boston
Destination Expert
for Boston
Level Contributor
16,770 posts
1 review
Save Reply
1. Re: Early April in the Berkshires?

The towns in the Berkshires are "real" towns, so there will be restaurants and other services available, but obviously not at the level of "high tourist" season. If you're flexible and your goal is hiking and nature-oriented, you should okay. What "sightseeing" were you planning? That could be an issue?

Boston, MA
Destination Expert
for Cape Cod, Massachusetts, Martha's Vineyard
Level Contributor
6,152 posts
161 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Early April in the Berkshires?

The Hancock Shaker village is open year-round & usually has vacation week programming for kids

http://www.hancockshakervillage.org/

The Norman Rockwell Museum is also open:

http://www.nrm.org/

Last time we were there we went bowling in Great Barrington -not sure how old your kids are - but we had a good time.

Here's a link for more family activities:

theberkshires24-7.com/berkshire-county-fun-a…

Level Contributor
2 posts
51 reviews
Save Reply