We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Good Yosemite Activities in Feb if no snow!

Strandhill, Ireland
Level Contributor
584 posts
343 reviews
Save Topic
Good Yosemite Activities in Feb if no snow!

We're heading over to Yosemite second week of Feb for a full 7 nights. I'm a photographer and was hoping to have some snow/ice to shoot. But being so dry in California I now want to start preparing for doing other stuff!! I'll still take some pictures just not the same amount...you never know about the weather also!

We've been to Yosemite before, most recently in September where we hiked up Half Dome and a few others around the valley, with a 5 night stay. I guess I'm looking for tips on what to do in February. We're staying in the Lodge. I seen Four Mile trail is open, so that would be of interest to us for sure for a full day hike. Can you hike to the top of Upper Yosemite Falls in winter? Or up the Mist Trail to the Vernal Fall bridge?

Mentioned in this post
California
California
United States
Half Dome
Half Dome
1,293 Reviews
Yosemite National Park, CA
Yosemite Falls
Yosemite Falls
2,027 Reviews
Mist Trail
Mist Trail
852 Reviews
Vernal Fall
Vernal Fall
1,236 Reviews
Washington State
Destination Expert
for Yosemite National Park
Level Contributor
67,182 posts
122 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Good Yosemite Activities in Feb if no snow!

Here is a map with the Winter Route to the top of Vernal Fall and on to Nevada Fall: yosemitenews.info/forum/read.php?3,50702

I thought that Four Mile trail was closed (as of 12/4), but that recent Trip Report describes someone using it to ascend to Glacier Point. Ask the rangers before beginning this hike.

Seasonal Openings nps.gov/yose/planyourvisit/seasonal.htm