We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Entrances to Yosemite & Lodging

Which Yosemite National Park hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Lindenhurst...
5 posts
1 review
Save Topic
Entrances to Yosemite & Lodging

I am planning to visit Yosemite for 3 nights during end of June/beg July time frame. This is my first time, and need guidance on finding the exact distance of a lodge from an OPEN entrance to Yosemite. Most lodges that claim to be in Yosemite area, on further drill down say that they are at least 60 to 90 minutes driving distance away from Yosemite. Not sure if they mean from a Yosemite entrance, from center of Yosemite or from some other point of interest in this HUGE park!! Can someone PLEASE GUIDE ON:

(1) How many OPEN entrances there are to the park during end of June/beg July timeframe?

(2) How to determine the driving distance from a lodge to an open enatrance of the park?

(3) Is it true that Yosemite valley is a small portion of the whole Yosemite park?

(4) For 3 nights, should I only focus on Yosemite valley area and find some lodge closer to the entrance near Yosemite valley?

Washington State
Destination Expert
for Yosemite National Park
Level Contributor
56,546 posts
104 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Entrances to Yosemite & Lodging

1) All 4 entrances will be open. The last one, Tioga Pass Entrance, opens today at noon.

2) Mileages chart: nps.gov/yose/…mileages9-2007.pdf or read the Lodging Article: tripadvisor.com/Travel-g61000-c59487 Both have drive times to Yosemite Valley, one 7 square mile area of 1200 square mile Yosemite National Park. Ask us for specific drive times from a lodging you're considering.