We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Worth getting a rental car? Waikiki..

CA, The O.C.
12 posts
Save Topic
Worth getting a rental car? Waikiki..

I'm a college student and on a budget. Having already spent $480 on hotel i was wondering is it worth getting a car to rent? How offen does the bus come by? I plan on going to north shore how will i get there? any bus?

I'm staying in Waikiki so everything pretty close to me where i can walk and still have fun right? or is everything better off by driving? thanks

Best Seller
Turtle Canyon Snorkel Cruise by...
122 reviews
from $96.75*
Best Seller
Oahu Grand Circle Island Day Tour...
667 reviews
from $80.31*
Best Seller
Pearl Harbor Tour From Honolulu
183 reviews
from $46.00*
Saint Paul...
Level Contributor
1,343 posts
227 reviews
Save Reply
11. Re: Worth getting a rental car? Waikiki..

sorry to worry you all

so fare I was referring to is NOT the reg Bus Pass

fee of $40.00 BUT

$20 for a four (4) consecutive day pass. Unlimited use visitor pass.

It is available at ABC stores and you will find there are tons.

good eyes cause $40 for a visitor is TOO MUCH

it would be wise to acess this link and save it

http://www.thebus.org

there's even a riders number listed.

Waikiki, Hawaii
Level Contributor
983 posts
29 reviews
Save Reply
12. Re: Worth getting a rental car? Waikiki..

Our reason for having a car is going places that we want, when we want. We may be heading home and decide to investigate a place "over there". With the bus, you'd have to get off and walk, then hope to get back on if the adventure didn't work out within a few minutes. With a rental car, a local can tell us about a cool place to visit and off we go. No schedules to watch or care for, no distance is off the route map.