We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

skiing in april

6 posts
Save Topic
skiing in april

I was looking at traveling the 1st week of April (spring break) with my 9 year old and was pleasantly surprised that the ski season lasts until mid April. Is this generally true or am I taking a big chance on the weather with traveling that late in the season?

This will be my first time in Utah and wondered if anyone could keep me insight on where to stay with a 9 year old boy that is a beginning skier and snowboarder and would like to try snowboard schools. I am a beginner skier. I like the idea of the ice skating and tubing hill at cliff lodge but have read some pretty poor reviews of the place. Any ideas?

salt lake city
Destination Expert
for Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
1,301 posts
95 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: skiing in april

Normally, I would suggest Park City resort for this but being April your best bet for snow is Snowbird. I haven't tubed or skated there though. The tubing hill on Parley's Canyon is very nice. The skaing rink looks adequate to me at Snowbird-though small. There is a huge rink that was built for the Olympics in the south end of the Valley you could check out. You could possibly wait until it gets closer to see how we're doing with snow depths before making your reservations. It's too soon to tell now. That is not high season so you should have no problem getting a room somewhere-anywhere you want to go. Usually we have lots of precipitation in April that's why the resorts are all open until mid-April but no one can guarantee the weather. It could be ice or fresh powder depending on the day.

salt lake city
Destination Expert
for Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
1,301 posts
95 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: skiing in april