We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

TranzAlpine train to Greymouth vs car hire

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
484 posts
111 reviews
Save Topic
TranzAlpine train to Greymouth vs car hire

Hi again

Hubby and I are now debating whether we should take a train from Christchurch to Greymouth and then hire a car at Greymouth for our trip to the glaciers and then return via train as well.

Whats the road from Christchurch to Greymouth like?

Last year we drove from Te Anu to Milford and I hated it. Im a city driver and I hated the one lane road, no places to pull over to let others pass and felt really stressed by speeding drivers even though I was doing the speed limit they kept pushing me to drive faster. I dont want a repeat of this for Christchurch to Greymouth

Many thanks

5 replies to this topic
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
484 posts
111 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: TranzAlpine train to Greymouth vs car hire

Oh, the other alternative is flying from Christchuch to Hokitika and then renting a car from Hokitika.

Any thoughts or preferances??

Nelson-Tasman...
Level Contributor
7,820 posts
440 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: TranzAlpine train to Greymouth vs car hire

The trans alpine train from chch to greymouth is a great trip and awesome scenery. Especially in the snow. Given your experience with NZ roads I would suggest the train as you will enjoy it so much more.

Greymouth, New...
Destination Expert
for South Island
Level Contributor
3,886 posts
140 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: TranzAlpine train to Greymouth vs car hire