We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

soll in january - can I exepct snow?

London, United...
Level Contributor
53 posts
9 reviews
Save Topic
soll in january - can I exepct snow?

I'm planning on booking at week in Soll from 17 Jan, it's my first time ski-ing and I'm looking to book a learn to ski package.

Can anyone advise on the snow levels to be expected at that time of year, I read some posts where people hadn't seen much snow on the lower slopes.

Also - I'm looking at booking the Sonnenhof or Hotel Austria, does anyone know what either are like?

Any feedback would be appreciated.

Cheers.

Paul

Vienna, Austria
Destination Expert
for Vienna, Austria, Innsbruck
Level Contributor
22,780 posts
29 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: soll in january - can I exepct snow?

According to the statistics, January is normally the best month to expect snow of good quality. But there is never a quarantee that snow will be good at this time of the year as the load fluctuates. If you wanna have a kind of assurance you need to go higher.

Tirol
Level Contributor
189 posts
31 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: soll in january - can I exepct snow?

This ist to you mike:

The hight of a ski area and the amount of snow do not correlate as much as you say.

I am living in the area of Kitzbuehel and I can tell you, that we have a lot of snow every year, more f.e. as the Higher mountains in South Tirol or Carinthia. The final part of the famous Streif is the lowest part of the whole ski area. Poor snow at this part (which is shown in the newspapers all the time), does not mean poor snow in the rest of the skiarea.

On kitzalps.com I faound 5 IMO good reasons why the alps of Kitzbuehel usally can offer good snow even at the end of the season: