We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

hot springs recommendations?

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
1,588 posts
454 reviews
Save Topic
hot springs recommendations?

going to hot springs in sept - what should we do to see the mineral baths/hot springs ? who do we call to reserve and what is recommended? 4 ladies in late 30s.

little rock arkansas
Destination Expert
for Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
3,337 posts
290 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: hot springs recommendations?

I have very little first hand experience with spas, massages etc , but I have toured each of three major mineral bath options in Hot Springs offering water directly piped from the earth, and have spoken to customers and employees. The three are all in interesting historic properties. Two are in stand-alone handsome historic buildings originally designed for mineral bathing and related services almost a century ago. Both are along Central Avenue in historic Bath House Row. The Buckstaff www.buckstaffbaths.com has continually operated and is very much the same as when Capone took the baths in the 1930's. It is licensed and inspected by the National Parks Service so "old" and "original" does not mean uncared for. The Quapaw www.quapawbaths.com dates back historically just as the Buckstaff, but was closed for many years and was reopened about three years ago after a multi-million dollar renovation. The architectural beauty has been restored and new features have been added. The third major mineral bath operation is in the historic Arlington Hotel. The Arlington www.arlingtonhotel.com had been the showplace of the City for many decades. As you can tell from reviews on this site, the grand old place is failing to satisfy many of its current customers. I keep hoping for a turnaround at the Arlington so I can heartily recomm