We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotwire

Which Philadelphia hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
Atlanta
Level Contributor
33 posts
4 reviews
Save Topic
Hotwire

I have a question about Hotwire. After reading this forum, I went on Hotwire to get a room in Philadelphia for August 22-26. Last week they had a 3.5 star in the Historic District, so it must have been the Sheraton Society Hill. It was $69 last week but I was not ready to commit yet. Now it has gone to $148. What I don't know is this: what are the chances of it going back down, or will it only go higher?

Thanks.

Frances

Philadelphia...
Destination Expert
for Philadelphia
Level Contributor
4,161 posts
29 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Hotwire

Frances,

I'm not an expert on Hotwire, but I think the law of supply and demand applies. My assumption is that the hotel had many rooms available when you saw the lower price. Once a bunch of them were reserved the price went up. I imagine that if there are a number of cancellations or if rooms remain available as August 22 nears, the price will go down. If more rooms are taken, it could conceivably go higher but i've rarely seen it over $148.

Good luck.

Lynn

Atlanta
Level Contributor
33 posts
4 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Hotwire

Thanks for the response, Lynn. Think I'll wait a little while and see what happens.

San Francisco...
Level Contributor
4,287 posts
22 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Hotwire

While you're waiting for the price on Hotwire to decline, you might try bidding on Priceline, starting at $50 and going up $5 every 3 days. You may be able to get something on Priceline for $69, which would be a very good deal, and there's no guarantee that Hotwire will have that rate again for the dates you want.

Atlanta
Level Contributor
33 posts
4 reviews
Save Reply