We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

TOTR and sunset timing

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
96 posts
Save Topic
TOTR and sunset timing

Ok, on my itinerary, I have TOTR set for July 12th at 7PM, and from what I've researched, sunset will be about 8:27 that night. I'm a photographer, so I want to take as many photos as I can with day/sunset/night settings. I thought 7PM might be a great time to get up there, but I was wondering if it was a little too early? Should we come maybe at 7:30?

I don't really have much leeway in our itinerary to get there twice in one day for sun/star tickets, so I wanted to get the best of both.

Also...is it worth it to buy tickets ahead of time with a scheduled arrival, or should we show up at the time we want to get there?

Lastly...is the TOTR and MOMA ticket combo a good deal? they have one for $42 to see TOTR and MOMA, on different days if we want. Convenient for us, as we have plans to get to MOMA the next afternoon. I only want to see Starry Night, so to get the discounted ticket seemed like a great idea as I wouldn't be spending $25 just to see one painting (I'm really NOT an art person, but this is my favorite painting).

Thanks all!!

NYC / Fire Island...
Level Contributor
7,496 posts
5 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: TOTR and sunset timing

Hola.

We have been to the ToTR many times and this past September we did the ToTR and ESBon the same day to get some perspective on each. We both prefer the ToTR in the evening because it offers us great views of the ESB all lit in colors appropriate to current events. And if you get to the ToTR just prior to sunset, you get some great views of Central Park and its lakes and ponds.