We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

San Diego to L.A.?

Which San Diego hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
DONCASTER - ENGLAND
Level Contributor
343 posts
8 reviews
Save Topic
San Diego to L.A.?

We are travelling in a rented 28ft motorhome from San Diego to L.A. so...............

1. How long will it take us?

2. And which is the best and easy route to take? we've never been or driven in the US before!

Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Michigan
Destination Expert
for South Haven, Saugatuck
Level Contributor
5,854 posts
16 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: San Diego to L.A.?

You are brave choosing this road to make your US driving debut. You really have two options, and make no mistake I'm no expert but I have made the trip a dozen times. The obvious route would be Interstate 5 up to the 405 depending on where you are going in LA. In a motorhome this should be a couple hour trip depending on traffic. When I say traffic I mean it; bad traffic will double your time. Maybe some locals can give you advice on a good time of day? An alternate route would be the Pacific Coast Hiway (PCH) (old road replaced by I 5). You can catch this in San Diego. It stretches from SD to Oceanside. You'd need to hop back on the 5 for a bit and then jump back on around Dana point. This would take you through many coast towns like Lajolla, Delmar,Oceanside Laguna Beach, Newport Beach, Huntington Beach. It will take a lot longer because of traffic lights etc. but the scenery is beautiful.

San Diego...
Level Contributor
3,514 posts
2 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: San Diego to L.A.?