We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Weather

Normal, Illinois
Level Contributor
1 post
4 reviews
Save Topic
Weather

We leave tomorrow for a trip we have planned for over a year. The weather reports show showers everyday. Are these usually light rain then sun or are we going to have to plan other things to do besides the beach, our favorite thing to do?

Phoenix
4 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: Weather

I am not an expert, but from reading the other posts on this board and from my experience in Honolulu about 7 years ago, the showers do not affect your beach plans. When I went with my family over Christmas, there were showers every day, but only for a few minutes and the temps did not drop. We would just stay out on the beach and the showers passed. So, I don't think you should worry.

So. California
Level Contributor
21 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: Weather

Yes, but what I have not heard is how bad the water visibility is now that it has rained, visibility in feet would be prefered. Is snorkling even a possibility this week? I will be there from March 29 - April 5. Snorkling is one of the MAJOR reasons that I am going to Maui (Ka'anapali beach) so if snorkling is our of the question then a good portion of my trip is ruined.

SoCalDad

Phoenix
4 posts
Save Reply
3. Re: Weather

I don't know about that. I'm going to be there the same time you are and we will be in the same boat.

Wailuku, Maui
Level Contributor
304 posts
3 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: Weather

The weather forecast this week still calls for extended showers. Right now we are still under a flash flood watch for the whole island. The news is saying the weather hasn't been this bad since 1951, it's on it's 37th day now. They did say it "should be clearing" this weekend, but how accurate that would be....we'll have to do the sun dance for ya.