We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travelling alone with a child...

Manchester, United...
Level Contributor
61 posts
2 reviews
Save Topic
Travelling alone with a child...

Hi,

I'm a TA newbie... always looking on here but never registered etc.

So, I'm a 20 year old single Mum and I've never been abroad before. I literally don't even know what you do at the airport and how to get on a plane - as silly as it sounds.

Anyway, I want to take my 4 year old Daughter abroad BUT... everyone keeps saying I won't be able to manage?

I'm not a total freak right? PEOPLE DO GO ON HOLIDAY WITH JUST THEIR KIDS DON'T THEY?????

I just want some advice on where is best to go... I really fancy Turkey but I've been told to steer clear because I'm a woman on my own with a young girl.

I'd really like to go to Majorca because there is a place I want to go where my Daughter and I can swim with dolphins... can anyone recommend some places please?

Anything would be really appreciated!

Mentioned in this post
Turkey
Turkey
Europe
Majorca
Majorca
Balearic Islands, Spain
Manchester, United...
Destination Expert
for Pollenca, Port de Pollenca
Level Contributor
10,866 posts
54 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Travelling alone with a child...

Hi, Maz and welcome to TA forum.. Some trixy questions you're asking, not easy to give short answers; but I will set the ball rolling for you and see what other members add.

You say "Never been abroad before" - yes, keep it a bit easier for a first time. I would suggest you should book through a travel agent. Take their advice, but also check with us all on TA.

And Majorca would be a good place to go for first trip abroad. (Swimming with dolphins, sorry can't help on that) one. And it's great that you and your 4 yr old want to go; it won't be easy first time though.