We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Charlottesville Restaurants for Anniversary Dinner Oct 6?

Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
3 posts
9 reviews
Save Topic
Charlottesville Restaurants for Anniversary Dinner Oct 6?

We will be in Charlottesville this weekend (October 5, 6, 7) to celebrate our first wedding anniversary.

I have spent the last 2 weeks researching Charlottesville restaurants from every possible angle (Trip Advisor, Fodors, Frommers, Zagat, cville.com, 10 Best, etc.)

I'm a fairly good cook on my own and grew up in a household where cooking is an art. I know good food, good service, and good restaurants when I see it/them. We don't mind paying $100-$150 dollars for a terrific night out. But we do expect top notch food and service at those prices. We generally reciprocate by tipping servers between 20-25% before tax.

We'll be having seafood at Rhett's on Friday night since it is close to our hotel, the prices seem fair, and we planned to spend the big bucks on Saturday night.

We thought we had come up with the perfect Saturday evening at Hamilton's since they have live jazz on Saturday nights and their internet menu featured 2 items that both my husband and I were delighted by:

- Filet Mignon over Garlic Whipped Potatoes with Bordelaise Sauce, Roasted Asparagus and a Portabella Mushroom Salad @ $28.95

- Pistachio-Crusted Rack of Lamb with Brandied Local Apples, Sauteed Swiss Chard, Whipped Potatoes and a Porcini Mushroom Demiglace @ $26.95

We figured with 2 glasses of wine and 2 desserts we might hit $100 before tax and tip ($130?)

Unfortunately when we called, they told us that

1) They couldn't accept a resrevation for 7:00 {although they suggested 7:30 - fine...]

2) Neither of these items was actually available,