We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Which is better for us?

Rhode Island
Level Contributor
278 posts
5 reviews
Save Topic
Which is better for us?

I am staying in PC. I had planned to ski the big 3 over there, until I expressed a desire to ski bowls on the PC forum. I was talked into either Snowbird or Alta. We are skiing 3 days. We plan to ski Canyons and DV the other 2 days.

What would be a better bowl skiing experience for a 46 YO guy and his son? Alta or Snowbird? I don't want bowls that are TOO difficult (although I am an expert skier, I am getting old!), but I want to experience the wide open powder =)

New Hartford...
Level Contributor
329 posts
41 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Which is better for us?

Just returned from a trip to Snowbird / Alta. Snowbird had more bowl skiing. Mineral Basin is wide open with steeps, bumps or groomers.

Rhode Island
Level Contributor
278 posts
5 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Which is better for us?

Thanks! Now do you mean just more bowl terrain in general, or more bowl terrain was open and/or accessible? Mineral Basin looks awesome, BTW.

New Hartford...
Level Contributor
329 posts
41 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Which is better for us?

I think there's more bowl terrain at Snowbird in general. From the top of the Mineral Basin chair, you'll have a few options for skiing wide open areas. Alta is connected by a tunnel. You can ski there for a couple of hours if you're curious. We did prefer Snowbird, however.

Everything was open when we were there. We arrived at the tail end of a 4 day/70" snowfall. ;- )

Rhode Island
Level Contributor
278 posts
5 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: Which is better for us?

Awesome. Well maybe we do go to Snowbird instead of Alta. I know you can get a 2 mountain pass, too. Looks like they are going to get dumed on again this weekend.