We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

moving to houston

Perth, Western...
Level Contributor
43 posts
11 reviews
Save Topic
moving to houston

i will be moving to houston in April with my husband and we would appreciate any suggestions on where to live/shop/visit etc. Our interests include golf, tennis, gym, movies and i love to walk so would like to join a walking group. We are thinking of finding an apartment around Kirby but will we find interesting shops here, not necessarily large malls? looking forward to all ideas and suggestions.

Lea

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
91 posts
78 reviews
Save Reply
11. Re: moving to houston

I am not an expert on gyms, but I do know about weekend getaways. My suggestions are Rockport, Bolivar, New Orleans, Austin, San Antonio, Port Aransas, Galveston, Lafayette, Corpus Christi and Wimberly. I have a lot of friends who love to go gambling in Lake Charles, but I can't think of any other reason to go there.

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
187 posts
35 reviews
Save Reply
12. Re: moving to houston

Lea61, I was in Perth last year and would gladly trade places with you and move there instead! That being said, you'll find a lot of conveniences here that might not be quite so readily available in Perth (24 hour grocery stores and drugstores...). No free CAT buses here, but the Kirby area is pretty centrally located so you'll be able to get to good grocery stores (Central Market, Whole Foods), restaurants (heaps of them all around), walking/running trails (at Rice University), shopping (Rice Village, Highland Village, Galleria), and entertainment very easily. The Rice Village area is a bit like Subiaco; but with better grocery stores than Woolworths.