We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Relo to PIT

Chicago, IL
4 posts
Save Topic
Relo to PIT

Will relo to PIT very soon. Had a quick neighborhood search this past weekend. Single male, late 30's.

My needs:

A destination neighboorhood - within 5 min. of "stuff"; shopping, grocery, food, bars.

Easily accessible/drivable to work, which is located near the airport -I will travel a bit for work, too.

Safety/parking - I like my car parked indoors, free from weather.

Townhome or single-family home is definitely affordable - I like newer or recently rehabbed homes.

People - I am brand new to the city, I'd like to find a place which welcomes 30-40-somethings (not just the late night "party" crowd, but chill out atmosphere, too).

I've lived in cities before (Memphis and Chicago) and I've also lived in more layed out suburbs/subdivisions.

This weekend I saw Southside and was impressed, but got no flavor for the people. Liked Squirrel Hill a bit. On the suburb side, Robinson and Moon Townships.

Any other thoughts are appreciated? I did some searches, so I'm trying to be a little more specific about my needs/wants. Thanks.

Pittsburgh, PA...
Level Contributor
262 posts
11 reviews
Save Reply
11. Re: Relo to PIT

I know the area around the airport very well because that is where I live. I am also a real estate agent. The recommendations for Moon and Robinson, as well as North Fayette and Findlay are very good. Prices for homes are very good right now, because our housing market has been quite slow. Plenty of townhouses available in all of those areas. Those areas are also all very close to shopping. Robinson Township/North Fayette have just about everything you could want regarding shopping/grocery/food/bars.