We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

farms to stay at in Intercourse

Clinton ,MA
Level Contributor
210 posts
51 reviews
Save Topic
farms to stay at in Intercourse

Looking for a farm / B&B to stay at for long w/end in May. would like to be able to experience the "real Amish" and stay in either a home or working farm. Suggestions appreciated.

14 replies to this topic
Bangor, Pennsylvania
Destination Expert
for Lancaster
Level Contributor
2,822 posts
17 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: farms to stay at in Intercourse

I have no personal experience with any of these, so take it for what its worth

search on trip advisors's intercourse site 'Amish Guest house and Cottage" Mitmot who posts here frequently has stayed here, reviewed this and recommends it. It appears there is no breakfast and it is of course separate from the Amish Farm, Hopefully Mitmott will give you additional details.

For farmstays, Verdant View is Mennonite Owned(worldly Mennonites-not Old Order) and gets good reviews. The Mennonite information Center website www.mennoniteinfoctr.com has a list of Mennonite owned Band B's and guesthouses

Many B and B's can arrange for their guests to have dinner at an Amish home with an Amish Family

I do think you have to realize that you will not get to stay in the same house with an Amish family and that your interactions may be limited.

Edited: 11:25 am, March 19, 2014
Clinton ,MA
Level Contributor
210 posts
51 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: farms to stay at in Intercourse

Thank you very much for your tips. I will certainly follow up on your suggestions.

NY
Level Contributor
1,461 posts
207 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: farms to stay at in Intercourse