We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Portland for Memorial Day

Fort Worth, Texas
1 post
Save Topic
Portland for Memorial Day

Hello everyone!

I am looking for some advice on a week long trip to Portland, Oregon for the last week of May 2013. I'm finally graduating in May from school and am planning a trip to Portland with my boyfriend to celebrate. We live in Dallas, Texas and have been wanting to get up to Portland for a long time.

A few questions:

1. How is the weather at the end of May? Would this be a good time to visit? Too cold? Too hot?

2. What would be the best option on lodging? I normally just do hotels, but I see some posts on these forums about condo or vacation rentals. I wonder if this might be a better option? I have no experience with vacation rentals - but am open to the idea, if it's affordable.

3. Last, what would be the best area to stay in? I've seen the Pearl District mentioned quite frequently. We don't drink, so don't care much about bars. However, I love great restaurants, live music, little shops, farmers markets, parks, etc. We really want to get a good feel for Portland - as this is a place that we have considered relocating to for work purposes. We will be flying in and renting a car, but would like to do a lot of the public transportation options if possible.

Thank you so much for all your help!!!

Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
290 posts
10 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Portland for Memorial Day