We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Must See's Downtown

Which Portland hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
New York City, New...
Level Contributor
32 posts
35 reviews
Save Topic
Must See's Downtown

I will have one full day next week in downtown with nothing planned and was wondering what the must see attractions are? I am a New York City resident so I am not interested in shopping but would love must see stores and neighborhoods. Any help would be great.

Buenos Aires...
Destination Expert
for Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
17,842 posts
101 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Must See's Downtown

Hi

My suggestion would be take the Steetcar and just get on and off at which ever stop appeals to you. The streetcar runs a big loop through town so it is quite a good way to sightsee.

I like the Pearl District for the new/old aspect...they called themselves a sort of Soho ... lots of warehouses etc converted into nice apt bldgs and shops .. lots of galleries and coffee shops, good restaurants..

NW23rd ( or as couple of tourists will say -Nob Hill) is good..a long street that has a gazillion shops of every sort, fun for looking, not neccesary to shop :)

and good food..behind 23rd is the neighborhood..

If you go uphill, you will see the amazing beautiful homes on the West Hill, if you were to walk 23rd , on Hoyt or Glisan..you can go back towards the Pearl and NW 10th..going through great neighborhoods of old apt bldgs, Arts & Crafts homes in all states of age and renovated to former beauty..and some very nice little parks.

The trees and flowers and birds wherever you go make it a lovely walk.

Chinatown, go down 12th St and past the North Park Blocks and you will see it..small but definitely Chinese :)

Hope this helps :)

Buenos Aires...
Destination Expert
for Buenos Aires