We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

New to Outer Banks

MI
2 posts
Save Topic
New to Outer Banks

My family and I are travelling to the Outer Banks this year at Labor Day. We are renting an ocean front home in Nags Head.

Has anyone stayed at 6101 - Ocean's Rest or SNH-9 7 C's? These are the homes we are looking at.

Looking for advice on eating out, things to do, places to see, etc.

Thanks

Pittsburgh, Pa.
Level Contributor
134 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: New to Outer Banks

TommyBoy,

My family and I have been vacationing in the Outer Banks since 1966!

The homes that you are looking to rent...who is the rental agency?

Places to visit would be Jockey's Ridge State Park......largest sand dunes on the east coast........Wright Brothers Memorial.....Fort Raleigh....

Depending on how far you want to drive in the area...there are a number of lighthouses in the area......Cape Hatteras, the most notable is the highest lighthouse on the east coast...Cape Hatteras National Seashore is @ 60 miles from NagsHead.

As far as dining is concerned there is everything from fast food to restaurants with great local tradition....Sam and Omies, Owens ranks 1st with my family as dinner is concerned...they only serve dinner....opening at 5:00....Miller's Restaurant..good breakfast..

Duneburger.....great for lunch or a quick burger for dinner...Port O' Call another family favorite for dinner

I am sure there are some newer restaurants that are worthwhile too.......We stick to our traditional restauants...Others will post ideas too.

If you need any more info....let me know

Lover of the Outer Banks!

NC mountains
Level Contributor
755 posts
7 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: New to Outer Banks

Here is a list of places hubby and I enjoyed in late November: