We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

South Luangwa national park- REVIEW

Greece
Level Contributor
45 posts
Save Topic
South Luangwa national park- REVIEW

Hello from Greece,

I'm a professional wildlife photographer, have just left South Luangwa, so I would like to share my experience with casual travellers and of course photographers as well.

South Luangwa national park is a vast jungle type- forest divided from north to south by the mighty Luangwa river. It is a Leopard fan paradise, cause as I discovered myself the density of the spotted cat per square mile is unsurpassed by any African national park I know!! The variety of mammal and bird life is staggering, although a lot of times well hiden under the thick and dense undergrowth!

Game drives (for the average tourist) last from 6-10am and from 4-8pm, although the park is open the whole day for anyone wishing to stay inside and do game drives all day long. The temperature (I can only speak for dry season) is a bit of an issue, since it is very chilly early morning, becomes quite hot around midday, and then again chilly and cold again during the night.

There are no huge lodges in the area, just tented camps, some expensive and luxurious, some basic, suited for the budget traveller. They all are positioned (side by side) by the banks of Luangwa river so as you can imagine, all of them provide spectacular view to the river and wildlife!

The park is not heavily crowded (just like the more "glamorous" parks of east Africa), which means that most of the times you do your game drives alone, without any other vehicle in sight. If there is an interesting scene though (leopard on a tree, lions with a kill) news spread out quickly and vehicles from all destinations come and gather!