We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Food Safety in Villas

Australia
Level Contributor
140 posts
8 reviews
Save Topic
Food Safety in Villas

Hi. We're currently organising our trip to Bali in July 2008 and want to book a villa thru the Laksmana Villas group. My husband however is nervous about the food and hygiene. He feels that if we do a hotel we know that produce, meat etc is sourced from US or Aust. Is is safe at these private villas? How do approach the accommodation & ask in a delicate way? Help please!

Mentioned in this post
Bali
Bali
Indonesia
Sydney
Destination Expert
for Seminyak, Bali, Canggu, Kerobokan
Level Contributor
8,614 posts
311 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Food Safety in Villas

Hi Burracooka

Please tell your husband not to worry about food in Bali at all. I have been coming here for 10 years and lately about 6 times a year and have never had Bali Belly once! I have stayed in hotels and now only stay in villas and never a problem. The food in Bali overall is as good as, if not better than, food in Australia and much cheaper too. You will both be pleasantly surprised.

Just relax and enjoy your holiday. Both Indonesian food and European food is well worth trying. Your husband will be converted.

Mentioned in this post
Bali
Bali
Indonesia
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
2 posts
4 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Food Safety in Villas

We stayed in Villa Jemma which is part of Laksmana villa group. There were no problems with the food. All the meals we had were top notch and none of us got sick. In fact, we felt that the food cooked there was even better than some of the high -end restaurants. If you do stay there, ask them to prepare a BBQ, it was the best meal ever!

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
710 posts
22 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Food Safety in Villas