We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

PATH Stations

Which Jersey City hotels are on sale?
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
See hotels
NJ
1 post
Save Topic
PATH Stations

I'm planning on going into Manhattan on a weekend for a dinner and a night out afterwards, so we're talking about 7pm-3 or 4am timeframe here. I'm coming from Summit, NJ (I'm also new to the east coast) and I could have the options of:

1) driving into the city (yikes)

2) AMTRAK via Summit station (but I can't stay out past the last train -- bummer)

3) drive to a PATH station and go from there

Which one would be safest, since I'll be travelling by myself? For PATH stations, are any of them shady after 10pm? Any that are well-light and safe? I've only been at the JSQ station during the daytime, and even the parking structure at the concourse gave me the heebie jeebies. Thanks!

NJ-NY
Level Contributor
86 posts
152 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: PATH Stations

Recommend just driving in; traffic should be lighter both ways. Don't know if PATH runs that late; check their website. By driving, your car will be ready & waiting for you and you won't have to stand around waiting an additional 30-90 min for the next train. AMTRAK is very expensive and probably doesn't run either...

San Francisco...
Level Contributor
4,291 posts
23 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: PATH Stations

Check the PATH website for parking information and schedule information. I lived in NJ years ago, and used PATH often. I would generally drive to the Harrison station, easily accessible from Route 280. The Harrison station is deserted late at night, but it did feel safe.

Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
35 posts
Save Reply
3. Re: PATH Stations