We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Is Stowe worth the trip?

Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
914 posts
9 reviews
Save Topic
Is Stowe worth the trip?

We'll be on our leaf-peeping driving tour in a couple of weeks. We are staying overnight in East Montpelier and would like to drive up to Stowe the next morning on our way to our next final destination, North Conway. However, we may be short of time because we'd rather be on the Kanc Hiway....is it okay to miss the little town of Stowe on this trip? If there surely is "not-to-be-missed" photo opps in the area...I would make every effort to make that visit.

Please advise. Thank you.

Hollis, New...
Level Contributor
4,670 posts
3 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Is Stowe worth the trip?

I'm no expert on Stowe, having been there I think once in my life. That said, it's unquestionably a beautiful town and area, and not far from East Montpelier. The thing is, on your way from there to North Conway you will see a great deal of beautiful scenery, and if you're pressed for time, there may be no compelling reason to take even that short detour. Of course, if you end up wanting to visit some particular attraction such as the Von Trapp lodge, that will consume a significant portion of your time.

So, my own feeling is that with a nearly endless series of photo-ops awaiting you on your main route, you could afford to skip Stowe. Only you can manage your time, though, and I'm sure you'll find Stowe rewarding if you do go.

Bristol, New...
Level Contributor
133 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: Is Stowe worth the trip?

A couple of weeks from now? I hate to say it, but you may be too late for good color anywhere in the mountains by then, whether it's Stowe or the Kancamagus... What exactly are your travel dates?

Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
914 posts
9 reviews